14 Songs

5:39 $1.29
2 3:15 Album Only
3 4:02 Album Only
4 5:09 Album Only
5 2:05 Album Only
6 4:26 Album Only
3:38 $1.29
8 4:12 Album Only
9 2:22 Album Only
10 3:36 Album Only
11 4:31 Album Only
12 4:29 Album Only
13 1:12 Album Only
14 5:10 Album Only

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5

31 Ratings

Experimental R&B


Kelela is so progressive it's crazy! I'm so excited for her official debut LP! Her runs give me goosebumps and her dark hazy beats set the tone!!!!



Cut 4 Me was illuminating, Hallucinogen was spellbinding, and Take Me Apart is going to be prodigious in all itself. LMK is a wonderful single, brewing dark instrumentals crossed with emotional vocals, I can't imagine how the 14 other tracks sonically sound. It's going to be an experience for sure. Thank you, Kelela. In all your glitz and gleam you shine gloriously. 💖

About Kelela

Alternative R&B vocalist and songwriter Kelela was raised in suburban Maryland and didn't have aspirations as a singer until she started studying jazz. Subsequent obsessions with Amel Larrieux and Little Dragon helped push her toward finding her own style -- one she found after she moved to Los Angeles. She connected with Teengirl Fantasy and contributed to the duo's Tracer album on the song "EFX." This led to meeting the Fade to Mind label's Prince William, who exposed her to his associates' lean yet sharp and deep productions. Knocked out by what she heard, she provided vocals for Kingdom's August 2013 single "Bank Head" (taken from the Vertical XL EP). With contributions from Fade to Mind and Night Slugs producers such as Kingdom, Bok Bok, Girl Unit, Jam City, and Nguzunguzu, Kelela sought to make a mixtape of tracks that sounded like remixes. The release, titled Cut 4 Me, was issued in October 2013 as a free download through Fade to Mind. It was one of the year's more striking debuts. A two-CD edition featuring a batch of remixes was released in March 2015. Several months later, Kelela returned with the six-track Hallucinogen EP on the Warp label. The release conceptually focused on the beginning, middle, and end of a relationship in reverse order and featured production work from Venezuelan electronic artist Arca. The two collaborated further for Kelela's debut full-length effort, Take Me Apart, which saw release via English label Warp Records in the fall of 2017. ~ Andy Kellman

    Washington, D.C.

Top Songs by Kelela

Top Albums by Kelela