13 Songs, 50 Minutes


About Monsieur Roux

Firmly rooted in the tradition of chanson française, French pop band Monsieur Roux released their critically acclaimed debut album in 2005. Founded in 2004 in Rennes, Ille-et-Vilaine, the band is comprised of Erwan Roux (vocals, guitar), Bertrand Thépaut (guitar), Kevin Gravier (bass), and Matthieu Lesiard (drums). Monsieur Roux made their full-length album debut in 2005 with Ah Si J'étais Grand et Beau..., which was originally released independently. Well received from a critical standpoint upon its release, Ah Si J'étais Grand et Beau... was awarded a Prix Charles Cros in 2007 and reissued that year by the Atmosphériques label, ultimately peaking at number 97 on the French albums chart. Monsieur Roux were subsequently signed to a major-label contract with Mercury Records, which reissued Ah Si J'étais Grand et Beau... yet again in 2008. The band's second album, Un Été Caniculaire, was released a year later. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Rennes, France



Listeners Also Played