Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Mason Bates: Anthology of Fantastic Zoology (Live) by Riccardo Muti & Chicago Symphony Orchestra, download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Mason Bates: Anthology of Fantastic Zoology (Live)

Open iTunes to preview, buy, and download music.

iTunes Review

Written for and premiered by the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in 2015, Mason Bates’ orchestral setting of Luis Borges’ book is a mythological, colorful triumph. Bates, a critical favorite of both audiences and musicians, has created in the Anthology one of his most expansive and surreal works, one whose idiosyncratic motifs and curious moods breathe existence into each character portrayed in the piece. Serpents slither, sprites dance, and the Zaratan demolishes. Under the baton of the meticulous Riccardo Muti, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra further solidifies Bates career as, indeed, fantastic.


Born: July 28, 1941 in Naples, Italy

Genre: Classical

Years Active: '70s, '80s, '90s, '00s, '10s

One of today's best-known and most esteemed conductors, Riccardo Muti is known for charismatic, brilliant performances of both concert and operatic repertoire. His father was a physician with a natural vocal talent who supported the young Riccardo's interest in music by giving him his earliest piano and voice lessons. Muti undertook formal musical studies at the Conservatorio di Musica San Pietro a Majella in Naples, where he earned a diploma in piano; among his teachers there was Nino Rota, the...
Full Bio
Mason Bates: Anthology of Fantastic Zoology (Live), Riccardo Muti
View in iTunes

Customer Ratings