12 Songs, 59 Minutes


About Apache Dropout

Bloomington, Indiana trio Apache Dropout (not to be confused with the U.K.-based early-2000s band of the same name) conjure the stomp, swagger, and trippy vibes of '60s psychedelia with their boogie-ready rock. The lineup of singer/guitarist Sonny Blood, bassist/singer Anu Nath, and drummer Lord Fyre released a handful of singles on Magnetic South, Mexican Summer, and Trouble in Mind between 2009 and 2011. Apache Dropout's self-titled debut album, featuring horn arrangements and artwork by John Terrill (Dancing Cigarettes) and engineering by Paul "Z" Mahern (the Zero Boys), arrived in 2011 and earned high marks from MOJO and Uncut. They returned in the summer of 2012 with sophomore album Bubblegum Graveyard for Trouble in Mind. In 2013 the Family Vineyard label released Magnetic Heads, a reissue that combined the group's incredibly fuzzy early cassette releases. In 2014, Apache Dropout teamed up with Magnetic South Recordings to release their second proper album, Heavy Window, which featured a new lineup of the band -- Nath and Fyre were gone, replaced by bassist Nathan Warrick and drummer Seth Mahern. ~ Chrysta Cherrie

Bloomington, IN