10 Songs, 28 Minutes


About The Peawees

The Peawees came screaming out of La Spezia, Italy, in 1995 with a punk-pop assault that recalled the Ramones. With a lineup consisting of guitarist/vocalist Hervé Peroncini (ex-the Manges), bassist Riccardo "Lalo" la Lomia, and drummer Livio Montarese (both formerly of the Nukes), the Peawees quickly recorded Where People Smile and released it within the year on Panic Records. They snagged a second guitarist (Stefano Zappelli) and started building their reputation as a hard-gigging band. They recorded This Is Rock N Roll a year later and found U.S. distribution through Motherbox Records, leading to a tour of the United States in 1998. The following year, Zappelli and Montarese left and Jacopo Giannetti and Andrea "Pulcio" Ricci took their places respectively. They recorded a few 7" singles and toured the U.K., shaping up their sound and leading to the recording of Dead End City in 2001. Stardumb Records released it at the end of the year, and the guys toured all over Europe in support. 2003 saw the record being reissued by Ammonia Records in Italy, complete with bonus unreleased tracks. After Giannetti was next replaced by Carlo Landini behind the drum kit, the Peawees hopped back out on the road, hitting up various festivals and sharing stages with bands like Radio Birdman and the Damned along the way. ~ Bradley Torreano

La Spezia, Italy