12 Songs, 38 Minutes


About Benighted

A French death metal band, Benighted formed in 1998. Initially made up of members Julien Truchan (vocals), Olivier Gabriel (guitars), Liem Nguyen (guitars), Fred Fayolle (drums), and Chart (bass), the group was a combination of death metal, black metal, and grindcore. This was the sound that Benighted put onto their eponymous debut album, which was released in 2000. The response was good, and the band signed a deal with Adipocere Records in early 2001. During the 2001 recording sessions for the band's follow-up, a change of direction -- moving toward a more "technical" brand of death metal -- was the catalyst for the first departure in the rhythm section of Benighted. Gone was Chart, and after the 2002 release of Psychose and its subsequent touring schedule, Remy Aubrespin took over on bass. In late 2002, Benighted were once again in the studio, and once again without a bassist. The result of the recordings, the 2004 release Insane Cephalic Production, was followed with some good news, as a replacement for Aubrespin was found in Eric Lombard. The next two years were spent promoting the good Benighted name, and the bandmembers found themselves hitting European stages with bands like Morbid Angel, Deicide, Fear Factory, Slipknot, and Soulfly. As if by clockwork, the year that album number four -- 2006's Identisick -- was released, there was a sudden vacancy in the band. This time, it wasn't a bassist venturing off, but a drummer. Gone was Fred Fayolle, and in his place would sit new trapsman Kevin Foley. A new deal was inked in 2007 with Osmose Productions, and in October of that year Benighted released album number five, Icon. In 2009 Benighted inked a deal with Season of Mist, and their first outing for the French indie, Asylum Cave, followed in 2011. The punishing Carnivore Sublime dropped in 2014, with Necrobreed, the band's eighth studio long-player, arriving in 2017. ~ Chris True

Saint-Étienne, France