Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Prisoners (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) by Jóhann Jóhannsson, download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Prisoners (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Open iTunes to preview, buy, and download music.

Customer Reviews


Goes great with the movie, but also stands by itself as another great set of tracks from Johann. He gets better as time moves forward.

Headphone Commute Review

When I first heard Jóhann Jóhannsson‘s soundtrack to Prisoners, I forgot that I have heard it once before. I was sitting in a theater in Seattle, watching this thriller by Denis Villeneuve about an abduction of two young girls. The bleak environment surrounding the sorrow, dread and a peculiar discomfort was punctuated by the orchestral strings transcending tension, angst and heartache. The atmosphere of the music was haunting and even frightening at times. The numerous variations on a prevalent melody were wrought with worry, turmoil and suspense. The textured ambiance took me to a place that I’ve attempted to escape. Except there was no place to run, the sonic storm was moving fast and soon it was upon me. It was only after the film ended that I spied Jóhannsson’s surname in the credits. Ah, but of course! A few weeks prior, this Icelandic composer of neo-classical, electronic, and cinematic music sent me a promo copy of his latest work. In my rushed preparation for a week-long immersion in Seattle’s Decibel Festival, I dropped the files on my iPhone, and listened to the music on my flight to the West Coast. So once the melody broke down and the instruments have wept, back in that theatre in Seattle, I have felt that melancholic touch. And I have felt at home again… In the past decade, besides his critically acclaimed full length releases on labels such as Touch, 4AD and FatCat, Jóhannsson has composed numerous scores for feature films and stage works. The soundtrack to Prisoners is available from WaterTower Music on CD, and via Jóhannsson’s own label, Kitchen Motors, on vinyl.


An amazing score for a fantastic film. It compliments the atmosphere of the movie immensely. 10/10.


Born: September 19, 1969 in Reykjavik, Iceland

Genre: Electronic

Years Active: '90s, '00s, '10s

Composer/producer/multi-instrumentalist Jóhann Jóhannsson is one of Iceland's most prolifically creative musicians, as a solo artist as well as a part of the Kitchen Motors label and collective (which also includes members of Sigur Rós, Múm, and Slowblow) and also Apparat Organ Quartet. Kitchen Motors' aesthetic, which focuses on largely improvised and electronic music, also applies to his other projects. Apparat Organ Quartet, with music described as "machine rock & roll," consists of four keyboardists...
Full Bio

Listeners Also Bought

Prisoners (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), Jóhann Jóhannsson
View in iTunes

Customer Ratings


Influenced by This Artist