11 Songs, 1 Hour 1 Minute


About The Presence

The Presence are an underground rap duo from New York who espouse a political world-view and who operate their own independent label, Uncommon Records. Influenced by East Coast rap legends such as Run-D.M.C., Public Enemy, Gang Starr, and Nas as well as contemporary alternative rappers such as El-P, Beans, Aesop Rock, and Rob Sonic, the duo is comprised of Nasa (MC/producer) and Cirrus (MC), who became best friends while attending high school together in Staten Island. Formed in 1999, the Presence made their recording debut in 2001 with the five-track EP Advanced Bloodbath, followed by the 12" single Woke in 2003. The duo founded its own label, Uncommon Records, in 2004 and released the Members Only EP that same year. The full-length album debut of the Presence, Common Man's Anthems (2005), followed, along with the one-off single Who Stole New Orleans? (2006). In 2008 the Presence announced that they were expanding their membership to include Shortrock (turntables) and DM Seidel (electric guitar, bass, synthesizer); in addition, they announced a reissue of Advanced Bloodbath on Uncommon Records and plans for a new full-length album, tentatively titled We Want the Winter, later in the year. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Staten Island, NY



Listeners Also Played