Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Reach for the Sky by Ratt, download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Reach for the Sky

Open iTunes to preview, buy, and download music.

iTunes Review

Following a superlative three-album run, Ratt was forced to adjust to changing trends in metal for their fourth, Reach for the Sky. To bring new perspective to the band’s sound they hired Mike Stone, who had worked on classic albums for Queen and April Wine. Even though the album was poorly received by fans and critics it contains some of Ratt’s best songwriting and playing. “City to City” and “I Want a Woman” are among the band’s tightest, hottest riffs, and the latter features blazing guitar duel from Warren DeMartini and Robbin Crosby. While fans criticized songs like “I Want to Love You Tonight,” “What’s It Gonna Be” and “What I’m After” for being too poppy, Reach for the Sky balances its lighter side by offering a generous portion of groaning, nasty blues-rock in the form of “Way Cool Jr.” and “No Surprise.” Meanwhile, “Don’t Bite the Hand That Feeds You” and “Bottom Line” are no-nonsense headbangers in the mold of “Round and Round.” Reach for the Sky was unfairly dismissed upon its release; in retrospect, it contains some of Ratt’s finest work.

Customer Reviews

Definitely worth the purchase.

RATT was one of the finest, most true to the soul of the 80's LA Metal scene you could ever hope to find. Their music was powerful, raw, and as sincere as one could hope from their genre. These boys lived the scene, sang about it, and MEANT it. Unlike so many other cookie-cutter faux-metal bands, these guys were the genuine article. Albums like "Out of the Cellar," "Invasion of Your Privacy," "Dancing Undercover," and yes, even good ol' "Reach for the Sky" here are a must for anybody interested in this music scene, and may well kindle a renewed interest in this genre from newer generations of music fans. Definitely worth the purchase.

Favorite Ratt Album

This is seriously my favorite Ratt alubm, with my favorite song being I Want a Woman, so if you buy one song, buy that one, but if you're looking for a Ratt record, this is the one you buy. Forget about Our of the Cellar and Round and Round, buy this one!

Very Underestimated album

Alot of people hated this album saying it sounded too popish. Even though it is Pop Metal it still is a great album and still provides some heaviness. It is also showing Ratt transitioning from Pop Metal to more Aerosmith-esque blues rock.
1. City To City- Cool driving Drums and Bass. Vocals also sound cool. Cool way to open the album
2. I Want A Woman- A typical pop metal song but with great guitar work. Includes One Of The BEST DUEL GUITAR SOLOS EVER. Also has a cool video hopefully Itunes will realease.
3. Way Cool Jr.- A Great Blues rock song. Its sound like the lyrics for a Poison song put over the instrumentals of an Aerosmith song
4. Don't Bite The Hand That Feeds You- A great heavy song. Great Chorus and vocals. Almost like a cross between Motley Crue and Judas Priest
5. I Want To Love You Tonight- One of Ratt's Power Ballads. It has a heavier edge to it that other power ballads didn't have. It also has a beautiful and awsome chorus.
6. Chain Reaction- Really heavier and fast almost like Body Talk from their previous album
7. No Surprise- A great bluesy song with awsome rhythm and chorus
8. Bottom Line- Best song on the album. Perfect Chorus, vocals, guitar, bass, drums, everything
9. What's It Gonna Be- Most commercial sounding song on the album. Softer but still good. Very melodic
10. What I'm After- Popish sounding but heavier than the previous song. It sounds awsome and has good guitar work and heartfelt lyrics.A good end to a great album


Formed: 1983 in Los Angeles, CA

Genre: Rock

Years Active: '80s, '90s, '00s, '10s

Ratt's brash, melodic heavy metal made the Los Angeles quintet one of the most popular rock acts of the mid-'80s. The group had its origins in the '70s group Mickey Ratt, which had evolved into Ratt by 1983; at that time the band featured vocalist Stephen Pearcy, guitarist Robbin Crosby, guitarist Warren DeMartini, bassist Juan Croucier, and drummer Bobby Blotzer. The band released its self-titled first album independently in 1983, which led to a major label contract with Atlantic Records. Their...
Full Bio

Top Albums and Songs by Ratt

Reach for the Sky, Ratt
View in iTunes
  • $9.90
  • Genres: Rock, Music, Metal, Arena Rock, Hard Rock, Hair Metal
  • Released: Oct 18, 1988

Customer Ratings


Influenced by This Artist