11 Songs, 37 Minutes


About Oranger

Representing ingenious kaleidoscopic conceptions, supported by guitar strains inspired on the foremost indie pop preferences, Oranger qualified as an additional rock psychedelia revival band in the late '90s. Oranger's set formed in San Francisco in 1997 with Mike Drake (vocals, guitar), Jim Lindsay (drums), and Matt Harris (bass, vocals). All three had previous band experience; while Drake and Harris were a part of the set of Overwhelming Colorfast, Lindsay played with the Stick Figures. At the time, the band relied on Chad Dyer on bass, before Harris was a full-time member. The year after, the crew made their first knockout while performing at the San Francisco Noise Pop Festival. It was then that Dyer decided to leave, establishing Oranger as a trio. The Bay Area team then decided it was time to do their first recordings and as a result, Doorway to Norway, their debut album released on the Pray for Mojo label, hit the record stores still in 1998. Amazing Grease reissued the album in 1999. Around this time the band added keyboardist Patrick Main to the line-up and began recording their first album. The Quitevibrationland was issued in 2000. They switched labels for their next release, 2003's Shutdown the Sun/From the Ashes of Electric Elves was issued by Jackpine Social Club. In 2005 the group streamlined their sound and that year's New Comes and Goes on Eenie Meenie is their most focused and tuneful relase to date.~ Mario Mesquita Borges

San Francisco, CA



Listeners Also Played