12 Songs, 35 Minutes


Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
9 Ratings
9 Ratings

One Size Fits All

This is not the album that was released for American audiences. Same title, but different songs. Disappointing for those who are expecting to see the songs from that release. The best I see is the illustrious album to match the songs from the American release.



Actually, this IS the American release distributed by Windham Hill, plus two tracks ("Rumble Boogie" and the 12" mix of "Prince of Darkness"). Take out tracks 6 and 12, and the sequence is restored. I bought this album on vinyl when it was released and again later on CD. It is superlative! "That Kind of Man" and "Please" are particularly magnificent. So sad that three of the original four are now gone. If you haven't experienced The Nylons, THIS is the place to start!


Worth it

"Up The Ladder To The Roof" alone is worth the price of admission here, but the rest is great, too, especially "Prince of Darkness."

About The Nylons

The Nylons signed with Attic Records in 1981, just two years after forming in Toronto. Though the original members were Denis Simpson, Paul Cooper, Marc Connors and Claude Morrison, Simpson soon left. Ralph Cole replaced him for a year, but Arnold Robinson replaced Cole in 1980. The a cappella group's self-titled debut appeared in 1982, as did One Size Fits All. After 1984's Seamless, the Nylons hit the Top 30 with a remake of Steam's "Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye." The album it appeared on, Happy Together, also did well. Paul Cooper left the quartet after 1989's Rockapella and was replaced by Micah Barnes. Four on the Floor was released in 1991, but Mark Connors died the same year. New addition Billy Newton-Davis had been a successful solo artist (Love Is a Contact Sport, Spellbound) prior to joining the Nylons for 1992's Live to Love. Run For Cover was released in 1996 and Wish For You followed four years later. ~ John Bush





Listeners Also Bought