24 Songs, 1 Hour 23 Minutes


About Timmy's Organism

Timmy's Organism began in the late 2000s as the solo project of Timmy Vulgar, longtime frontman of a string of Detroit punk bands including the Epileptix, Clone Defects, and Human Eye. Vulgar was experimenting at home with four-track recording, using borrowed synthesizers to create ambient percussion for his extremely skewed Beefheart-ian approach to pop music. The first releases as Timmy's Organism came in the form of a string of 7" singles, including a self-titled double 7" on Sacred Bones. By 2009, Vulgar had brought in bassist Jeff Fournier and drummer Colin Sick to back him up, and Timmy's Organism expanded into a touring three-piece, existing in tandem with Vulgar's other highly active vehicle, Human Eye. More 7"s followed, the band leaning toward slightly comedic punk with song titles like "I'm a Nice Guy Now" and "Cold Pizza." The band released its first album, Rise of the Green Gorilla, on Sacred Bones in 2010 and followed in 2012 with Raw Sewage Roq on In the Red Records. In 2014, Chicago indie HoZac Records issued a double-LP collection of Vulgar's various singles and rarities under the Timmy's Organism banner, appropriately titled Singles & Unreleased Tracks. Switching labels again, the trio found a new home with Jack White's Third Man Records, which issued their third LP, Heartless Heathen, in late 2015. ~ Fred Thomas

Hamtramck, MI