Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Michael Nyman: String Quartets Nos.1-3 by Balanescu Quartet, download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Michael Nyman: String Quartets Nos.1-3

Open iTunes to preview, buy, and download music.

Customer Reviews

Sooo beautiful!

These pieces were written for a dance, so when you listen to them, there is a real conveyance of movement and emotion. His music is (to me) composed of repeating melodies that combine in a greater theme to move the entire piece forward. My favorite String Quartet piece of his is String Quartet No.2: 3.III, because it starts out in a place of deep introspection, and rises to a place of enlightenment and joy. It makes me so happy.


Genre: Classical

Years Active: '90s

Alexander Balanescu (b. 11 June 1954, Bucharest, Romania), the son of a university professor, was raised in Romania before his family moved to Israel in 1969. After two years he relocated to London, England, to take up violin studies (he also spent time at the Juillard School of Music in New York). He formed the Balanescu Quartet in 1987, initially joined by Clare Connors (second violin), Bill Hawkes (viola) and Caroline Dale (cello). Having already developed strong working relationships with fellow...
Full Bio
Michael Nyman: String Quartets Nos.1-3, Balanescu Quartet
View in iTunes
  • $9.99
  • Genres: Classical, Music
  • Released: Jan 01, 1991

Customer Ratings