12 Songs, 49 Minutes


About The Hip Abduction

Florida-based outfit the Hip Abduction create a sunny amalgam of reggae, West African, and effusive indie pop. Formed in St. Petersburg in 2010, the six-piece ensemble arrived at its vibrant sound thanks to its members' collective interest in fusing the music of the world's sunny climes with a strong, melodic pop sense. They introduced this fusion on 2011's One Less Sound, a debut that grew out of the band's initial jam sessions and sported a somewhat looser feel than their self-titled 2013 follow-up. Augmenting their global-minded sound with bright synth pop elements, members David New (lead vocals, guitar), Chris Powers (bass), Dave Johnson (baritone and tenor sax), Sean Fote (keyboards), Matt Poynter (drums, vocals), and John Holt III (kamale ngoni, guitar, vocals) headed to Nashville to record their third album with producer Dabney Morris. Released in 2016, Gold Under the Glow had an expansive feel highlighting the band's roots-based attributes while introducing a more modern pop sound. ~ Timothy Monger

St. Petersburg, FL



Listeners Also Played