6 Songs, 29 Minutes

Mastered for iTunes
Mastered for iTunes

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5

19 Ratings

19 Ratings

More songs!!!


I got a CD with the "Fight Your Demons" song at the last tour and that song is awesome. I'm sure that the rest of the songs are going to be similar quality

Long live Epica


As always Epica only release great music and as always Simone and Marko are at the top of their games

The Solace System


Every Epica album, from The Phantom Agony to The Quantum Enigma, have their own sound and quality to them that make them not only unique, but powerful in the message they are conveying. Epica's most recent release, The Solace System EP, was supposed to be a list of B-sides for their last LP The Holographic Principle. Although they could've been just another set of bonus tracks to that previous album, I was actually surprised to hear such information. The opening track, The Solace System, seems to be it's own breed of music in the Epica spectrum, immediately introducing the listener with a powerful choir and guitar chords. This magnificent opener is also accompanied with Architect of Light, a song with an orchestra that makes the listener's heartbeat start to race. But no album is completed without a soft ballad, being their acoustic version of Immortal Melancholy, in which Simone's voice seems to resonate within, telling you to "join her" on the quest to infinity--a quest to listen to this new addition to the Epica legacy. Definitely worth a buy!

About Epica

Originally calling themselves Sahara Dust, Holland's Epica formed in early 2003 when After Forever guitarist Mark Jansen decided to break away from the group he had helped found in order to start an operatic metal project all his own. After drafting teenaged mezzo-soprano Simone Simons, guitarist Ad Sluijter, keyboardist Coen Janssen, bassist Yves Huts, and drummer Jeroen Simons, Epica entered Wolfsburg, Germany's Gate Studio with a classically trained choir and string section to lay down their ambitious debut, The Phantom Agony. Released by Transmission Records in late 2003, the album spawned a number of singles.

The band's early success paved the way for 2005's sophomore LP, Consign to Oblivion, which also charted well in the Netherlands. A move to metal powerhouse Nuclear Blast and the addition of Ariën van Weesenbeek on drums was followed by Epica's first conceptual album, The Divine Conspiracy, released in 2007. It charted across Europe, as did 2009's Design Your Universe, which equaled their best Dutch chart showing at number eight; Design Your Universe also featured a new member, with Isaac Delahaye taking over guitar duties.

Epica's fifth studio album, Requiem for the Indifferent, appeared in 2012. It was the first to chart in the U.K. and U.S., after which another lineup shift found Huts giving way to Rob van der Loo on bass. The band celebrated its tenth anniversary in March 2013 with a special show in Eindhoven, titled and later released as Retrospect, which even featured former members Sluijter, Simons, and Huts. Just a year later, the band issued The Quantum Enigma, its first studio album with Rob van der Loo. Epica's next full-length outing, 2016's Holographic Principle, was described by Simons in an interview with Spark TV as their "most ambitious offering to date." ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

    Reuver, Netherlands