Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music from Spring a Leak by The Lucksmiths, download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Spring a Leak

Open iTunes to preview, buy, and download music.

Album Review

The Lucksmiths' third collection of stray tracks (following 1999's Happy Secret and 2002's Where Were We?) is an epic-length treasure trove of indie pop greatness. Stretching across two discs and spanning 11 years, the Australian trio's back pages show a band unparalleled at delivering emotionally powerful, melodically pleasing pop tunes. The collection gathers up single B-sides, compilation tracks, rarities (like a version of "Hiccup in Your Happiness" cut for a TV appearance and Hydroplane's remix of "I Prefer the Twentieth Century"), and a bunch of interesting covers. They tackle songs by influences like the Smiths ("There Is a Light That Never Goes Out"), the Bee Gees ("I Started a Joke"), and the Modern Lovers ("Dignified and Old") along with friends and contemporaries like the Magnetic Fields ("Deep Sea Diving Suit"), the Cat's Miaow ("Make a Wish"), and the Sugargliders ("Dolly"). This collection is absolutely essential for fans of the band; there's no way even the most dedicated follower could have all these tracks. Indie pop fans should also seriously consider adding Spring a Leak to their collections as well, as you'd have to go pretty far to find two discs packed with so many stunning songs and brilliant performances, indie pop or otherwise.

Customer Reviews

This could be the beginning of a beautiful friendship...

In the gathering of tracks for "Spring a Leak" Matinee Records has collected some of the bands strongest tracks over the last ten years and packaged them as an accessible introduction for new fans, and a catalog- completing rarity compliation for the established. "The Year of Driving Languorously" finally receives the track positioning it always deserved, while EP B-sides "To Absent Votes" and "From Macaulay Station" are fully released as album tracks. The delicate cover "Postcard" shows the versatility of the band, while "Camera Shy" causes the listener to question why this band never truly broke through. For the listeners of The Lucksmiths, compliations like this will be enjoyed long after the band's final show in August.


Formed: Australia

Genre: Alternative

Years Active: '90s, '00s

Australian indie pop trio the Lucksmiths teamed singer/percussionist Tali White, guitarist Marty Donald, and bassist Mark Monnone, longtime school friends who initially bonded over their mutual admiration for the Smiths. After going their separate ways to attend university and travel, the threesome reconvened in their native Melbourne in early 1993, playing their debut gig that April opening for the Sugargliders. The Lucksmiths' debut tape was soon released, and in 1994 the group resurfaced with...
Full Bio
Spring a Leak, The Lucksmiths
View in iTunes

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this album.

Influenced by This Artist