12 Songs, 45 Minutes


About Young Liars

Vancouver indie pop quartet Young Liars formed in 2008 from a confluence of local bands that were breaking up, swapping members, and re-forming with new intentions. Rhythm section Andrew Beck (bass) and Tyler Badali (drums) joined forces with singer/guitarist Jordan Raine with friend Wes Nickel eventually joining them on keys. Their early efforts took on more of a dance-punk slant with some intricate math rock tendencies thrown in, but by the time they signed with Nettwerk Records to release their 2012 debut EP, Homesick Future, they had softened nicely into what they referred to as summertime synth. While some of the technical math rock prowess remained hidden in their tidy guitar sections, they more closely identified with the sunny, synth-bliss daydreams of Washed Out and the earnest romance of the Postal Service. Their debut full-length, Tidal Wave, arrived in June 2014. ~ Timothy Monger

Vancouver, BC




Listeners Also Played