11 Songs, 52 Minutes


Ratings and Reviews

4.9 out of 5
26 Ratings
26 Ratings

From Journeyscapes Radio

"Transience" is the fifth full-length studio album from Amethystium, the enchanting musical project of Norway's Øystein Ramfjord. Although it comes nearly six years after 2009's "Isabliss," most of the former ethereal tones and trademark sounds which Amethystium fans have come to love - and that have inspired many other lovely artists - are still very much present on the newest installment. Three of the four tracks which appeared on the mini-album "Aurorae," released in early 2012, are present on this release and include "Nightfall," "Solace" and "Far Away".

"Transience" combines ambient-electronic soundscapes and downtempo rhythms with piano, cello, violin and angelic vocal backdrops enveloped by a dreamy fog. One notable difference on this album is the absence of songs which feature a lead vocalist delivering a soaring melody (think "Autumn Interlude" or "Treasure"). Instead, "Transience" is comparatively low-key throughout with a slightly more Celtic feel this time around. And as with prior listening experiences of Amethystium's musical voyages, "Transience" evokes images of glistening rivers and lush forests in northern terrain at twilight.

Overall, "Transience" transpires like another magical chapter in an ongoing musical fairy tale full of beauty, mystique and inspiring a child-like wonder.


A new album!

I was excited to discover that Amethystium was finally coming out with a new album. All the songs are peculiar in the way that they evoke certain emotions while listening to them. I found this to be the case while listening to "Saudade" in particular. You won't be disappointed!



Absolutely amazing. It reminds me of 1900 century western fiddle with beautiful New Age as the main theme. It has been a long time since I have found something I like as much as this since I fell in love with Enigma. Great album and I LOVE the 2nd to last song.

About Amethystium

An ambient new age/electronica project of Norwegian producer/composer Øystein Ramfjord with world music influences, Amethystium arrived on the scene in 2000 with the self-released EP Autumn Interlude. After signing with Neurodisc Records, he released three albums in four years that all hit the Top 10 of the Billboard New Age Albums chart: 2001's Odonata (its "Odyssey" was later featured in the 2004 IMAX film Sacred Planet), 2003's Aphelion, and 2004's Evermind. The latter featured vocals by Lee Nisbet of Animus Mundi on three tracks. The compilation Emblem (Selected Pieces) was issued in 2006, and Isabliss arrived in 2008. Splitting with Neurodisc, Amethystium's 2012 EP Aurorae was released on Ramfjord's own AM.mu Records. Featuring the Harding fiddle, a traditional Norwegian instrument, the wistful Transience followed in 2014. ~ Marcy Donelson




Listeners Also Bought