14 Songs, 42 Minutes


Ratings and Reviews

4.8 out of 5
19 Ratings
19 Ratings
wzafrane90 ,

My town, my street

This album is one the best ska-punk albums that I have listened to since I started listening to ska or punk, great album hands down.

sdbodyboarder ,

what a great cd

this is a classic from a band that never really made it too big. my town is a classic song emboding the beach scene and i can still see the mission beach boardwalk each time i listen to it. this album brings me back to when it 1st came out when i was 13 years old and it's pretty cool. a solid album, it gets 5 stars from me due to how much it influenced my life and everything.

drummerboy4397 ,

Twenty Eight Teeth

This is a very good album. Every song will get you nodding your head, singin along, and sometimes even dancing! other wise great album>

About Buck-O-Nine

Buck-O-Nine is a San Diego-based ska-punk band that gained a small following in the mid-'90s, and whose popularity increased as the third wave ska revival reached the mainstream with the success of Rancid and No Doubt. Buck-O-Nine is comprised of Jon Pebsworth (vocals), Jonas Kleiner (guitar), Scott Kennerly (bass), Steve Bauer (drums), Tony Currey (trumpet), Don Albert (trombone), and Craig Yarnold (saxophone). The group formed in the early '90s and became a fixture on the California ska-punk scene. In 1994, they released their debut album, Songs in the Key of Bree, on Taang Records. It was followed in 1995 by Barfly, which helped expand the group's fan base, especially with a relentless tour schedule that took them all across the U.S. and on their first trip to Japan. In the spring of 1996, the group released the Water in My Head EP. In 1996, Buck-O-Nine moved to TVT Records and began working on Twenty-Eight Teeth with producers Neill King and David Kershenbaum. Released in April 1997, Twenty-Eight Teeth found the group delving deeper into reggae and ska, and the album produced their first nationwide radio single, "My Town." Following a subsequent tour, Bauer exited the group. The Pass the Dutchie EP followed in 1998, and a year later Buck-O-Nine returned with Libido. By this point, Bauer had been replaced on drums by Jeff Hawthorne, and new bassist John Bell (ex-Unwritten Law) was on board as well. Demos for the band's next album led to them being dropped from TVT. The live album Hellos & Goodbyes (randomly recorded at a show in Japan) was later released through Pebsworth's own Offramp Records in 2000; that same year, Bell left the band to return to school, and bassist Andy Platfoot signed on in his place. Though the band continued touring and playing shows over the following years, Buck-O-Nine decided to ease up on their demanding schedule to be home more. After a seven-year hiatus, during which a best-of album was released, the group returned in 2007 with an album of new material titled Sustain. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

San Diego, CA



Listeners Also Bought