11 Songs, 44 Minutes


About Motopony

Motopony were formed in “the warehouse,” a loft in downtown Tacoma, Washington where songwriter Daniel Blue shared space with other local artists and musicians. After amassing a collection of quirky folk songs, Blue began touring the Tacoma/Seattle area as a one-man act. Buddy Ross eventually joined him, first as a producer and later as a full-fledged bandmember, bringing with him a stronger emphasis on pop music. Guitarist Brantley Cady and drummer Forrest Mauvais also joined the lineup, and Motopony -- now a folksy electro-pop quartet, capable of turning out acoustic ballads and fractured dance songs -- released their self-titled studio debut in May 2011. Their laid-back follow-up EP, Idle Beauty, was recorded during an ensuing period of multiple membership changes, and released by eOne Music in 2014. The band settled in as a six-piece and introduced more psychedelic, grittier synth pop on their second full-length, 2015's Welcome You, recorded at Bear Creek Studio in Woodinville, Washington with the lineup of Blue, guitarists Nate Daley and Mike Notter, keyboardist Andrew Butler, bass player Terry Mattson, and Mauvais on drums. ~ Andrew Leahey & Marcy Donelson

Tacoma, WA




Listeners Also Played