7 Songs, 26 Minutes


About Lorelei

Virginia-based noise-pop outfit Lorelei formed in 1991; originally a five-piece, in the wake of their Slumberland debut single "The Bitter Air" the line-up slimmed down to the trio of singer/guitarist Matt, bassist Stephen and drummer Davis. A series of compilation appearances preceded the release of the Asleep EP in early 1994, followed a year later by the full-length Everyone Must Touch the Stove. As the members of Lorelei all relocated to different areas of the U.S., the group disbanded in 1996; all pursued solo projects -- after a stint in Sabine, Matt recorded as Textile Sounds, Stephen worked as Chessie, and Davis issued material as Glass Bottom Boats. ~ Jason Ankeny