Screenshots

Description

SketchBook for Everybody!

At Autodesk, we believe creativity starts with an idea. From quick conceptual sketches to fully finished artwork, sketching is at the heart of the creative process. You never know when a great idea will strike, so access to fast and powerful creative sketching tools is an invaluable part of any creative process.

For this reason, we are excited to announce that the fully featured version of SketchBook is now FREE for everyone!

What's New

Version 8.6.1

• Bug fixes

Ratings and Reviews

3.1 out of 5

179 Ratings

179 Ratings

Editors’ Choice

Draw without distraction and refine sketches into illustrated art.

Super laggy, but hope is a thing with feathers

Gareth Danger

I’ve been a big fan of the previous releases since the beginning. I’ve used them in studio and home environments and I’ve yet to find another program that matches Sketchbook’s usability, elegance and friendly feel. I’m a storyboard artist and the previous releases have all been perfect for what I do - fast and responsive. This version (8.6.1) seems to have dropped the ball on responsiveness and the knock-on is a pretty frustrasting experience throughout.

The brushes lag, particularly the larger ones. I’ve followed all the suggestions in the fora - resetting to factory default, turning off enable rotate, brush stamp, etc, restoring, reinstalling and trying old versions of the Cintiq software - no dice. I’ve even done a clean install of High Sierra and the problem persists. I’m a bit of a luddite, but my other design suite and even video editing software run perfectly fine and I’d imagine they’d be more taxing on memory.

I’m running High Sierra on a mid-2012 i5 MacBook Pro, 4gb of RAM and an SSD, and I’m using a Cintiq for drawing. If you have any idea how this can be resolved, I have three more stars with your name on it. In comic sans though.

So Done With This

CameronVM

First of all, I bought this app I think over two years ago and it was a one time 60 dollar purchase. This was my favorite program I'd used and I loved working with this program and improving my art. However, I took a break from artwork and when I came back to the app it told me to delete and reinstall. Biggest mistake ever. When i redownloaded it, the program was awful and I soon realized why. That one time purchase was all for nothing, because they had changed it and made it a subscription. Their free option is the worst thing I've ever seen. Three layers? Really. I'm still infuriated to this day. They took away all of the things I loved. The infinite layers? Gone. The options to change the layer qualities? Gone. The tons of brushes? Gone. Everything I loved about the program? Gone. You can get those features you just now have to pay a subscription for them, which is ridiculous. It's a way to garner more money from artists, professional or otherwise. Noce work on ruining a good thing.

Developer Response

Hello RabbitNose, I just spoke to a colleague in support. We were both VERY surprised that you lost the copy of SketchBook you purchased. So, if you log a ticket (https://support.sketchbook.com/hc/requests/new?ticket_form_id=149598) and get a copy of your purchase (from your MAS purchase history), he will be able to get you a permanent version (which would be version 6+). We are very sorry for this! It seems that sometimes older apps are removed from the MAS, making it impossible to recover the program on your own. So, once again, please log a ticket (https://support.sketchbook.com/hc/requests/new?ticket_form_id=149598), so we can resolve this and thanks for letting us know about this!

Information

Seller
Autodesk
Size
77.6 MB
Compatibility
Languages
English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Spanish, Traditional Chinese
Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright
© Autodesk Inc.
Price
Free

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer