iPad Screenshots


MusicJOT is a powerful music notation app that's also easy to use. Write quickly and naturally on a staff and watch it rendered into beautifully notated music. Interact directly, quickly dragging notes around to change their pitch or duration and choose advanced features from pop-up palettes. Listen to your composition with our full-featured audio playback engine, featuring unlimited tracks and 128 built-in General MIDI instruments. Export your scores in MusicXML or MIDI and pick them up in any desktop notation app such as Finale® or Sibelius® for final tweaking and printing.

• Enter music with your own natural handwriting and a stylus. Optimized for Apple Pencil®. Also directly supports Adonit® stylus.
• Alternative palette-driven system for notes and music symbols.
• Layers let you control and de-clutter what is displayed.
• "Virtual Pointer" allows spot-checking notes, local playback of notes or chords and entering/selecting events.
• The "Visual Road Map" shows your composition's repeat structure.
• Lyric support with automatic syllable flowing.
• Number of staffs and measures limited only by your device.
• Group instruments together, such as a woodwind section in an orchestral score.
• MusicJOT doesn't force you to maintain legal notation. Correct measures at any time with the Illegal Measure Buttons.
• Advanced settings allow fine tuning of dozens of parameters to tailor your notation style.
• Complete contextual help system, including a device-resident manual and tutorials.
• Individual staffs can be transposed for transposing instruments, such as trumpets and saxophones.
• Batch note manipulations, such as transpositions and copy/paste with merge, append and replace.
• Directly change note pitches (diatonic, chromatic) or durations by dragging when not in handwriting mode.
• Playback support for tempo markings and dynamics.
• Music spacing adjustable.
• Context sensitive menu system after selections for many often used operations such as octave transpositions, note/rest toggle, common triplets, and simple repeats, etc.
• Score manager allows creation of new scores from templates or custom setup.
• Air print directly from MusicJOT.
• Multiple voices per staff.
• Staff Manager

What's New

Version 1.2.5

Bugs Fixed:
Fixed an issue where there was too little text room for abbreviations in the Staff Manager.
Fixed a bug where invoking the repeats panel from the last measure and then switching to another tab was crashing.
Fixed an issue where adding a lyric to a note that already had text was crashing.
Improved zooming and scrolling performance, especially with large documents.
Fixed an unexpected quit with large documents on older iPads.
Fixed an issue when popping up panels. Sometime they were either partially or totally offscreen.
Fixed an issue where selecting at the very bottom of the screen was inhibited by the presence of the context sensitive menu whether visible or not.
Fixed an issue where saving the document (either automatically or manually) might clobber memory and crash.
Fixed a serious issue where some users could not load a previous score without crashing.
Fixed an issue where some older documents that used multiple voices were flipping stems in the wrong direction.

Features Added:
Added visible drag handles to shapes such as slurs, hairpins, regions, etc.
Added a virtual pointer style user pref.
Added a Reset Defaults in the Options drop down.
Added meter shortcuts to context sensitive menu.
Updated help files.

Ratings and Reviews

1.9 out of 5

7 Ratings

7 Ratings

Poor implementation


I wrote an earlier review of this app when it was crashing all the time and have come back to update the review.

I hate just about everything about this app. You can’t move the note selection bar around to different parts of the screen, you can’t just swipe to advance the bar, you have to use tiny little buttons up in the left hand part of the screen. You can’t just tap to enter a note, you have to hold for a second, the only way to delete a note is to select it and then a tiny little menu appears at the bottom of the screen with a delete button.

Even with plenty of real estate on an iPad Pro you can’t have the immovable note selection bar show rests and notes, you have to constantly switch between them which is a hassle unless you don’t use rests in your music.

Handwriting notation is a nightmare.

This was a total waste of money. I have hundreds of music apps, synthesizers, DAWs, effects and notation programs and this is by far the last on the list.

Edit: This will be my final review of this product as I have just purchased Notion which is twice the program at half the ‘discounted’ price of Musicjot (it’s almost October 2017, the ‘sale’ was supposed to end in March). I am removing this app from my Pro and won’t be doing business with this company ever again.

Developer Response

We have updated the app twice since this review. Perhaps you could give us another try? We haven't seen the issues you had with playback before. Perhaps you could be more descriptive as to what exactly you did. Also, please use the "Report a Bug" feature from within the app, as that will send us some important info on your hardware. Your suggestion to be able to flip the positioning of some palettes for right-handed vs left-handed users is a good one. We'll put it on our list.

This has great potential, and I’m hopeful to see new updates.


This app has real potential! The concept is one that any musician would want, much like Finale, but at a much lower price, and so fun to use on a tablet! For the most part, the interface does what I want/expect it to do. I will say, THE HANDWRITING RECOGNITION IS VERY IMPRESSIVE! However, I do have trouble getting the program to recognize polyphony and chords on a single track, which is a bit of a setback, especially as a classical guitarist. The app does crash fairly often, but I have a feeling it is related to the iOS 11 update. This app is still in it’s infancy, so I’ll cut some slack for now because I have huge expectations for what it will become.



Didn't get the promotional price as advertised, was charged full freight. Oh well. Now the app closes itself after opening for just a few seconds.
Controls are not very intuitive...broad learning curve to perform what should be simple tasks. Seems to be missing some important elements as far as repeat management (1st and 2nd endings, etc.).
Save your money.

Developer Response

It's not really possible that you would have been charged anything other than the price posted: $29.99. I encourage you to double check on that. If you were charged something different than the posted price, please don't hesitate to contact Apple since they control that aspect of the sale. I appreciate your concerns, but perhaps you could be more specific and let us know what you find non-intuitive about the controls. We always listen to our customers and submit regular updates. What are the import "missing elements?" We do have 1st and 2nd endings - did you not see them or did you wish something further? The crash at startup under certain circumstances has been fixed and will appear in the next update which will be released soon.


Mona Lisa Sound, Inc.
79.9 MB
Requires iOS 10.3 or later. Compatible with iPad.
Age Rating
Rated 4+
© 2017 Mona Lisa Sound, Inc.


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like