Screenshots

Description

LIGHTS! COLORS! ACTION!

OnSwitch is the #1 most-downloaded third-party app for Hue and LIFX smart lighting systems.

OVERVIEW
• More than 20 "Albums" contain over 125 animated and static light scenes. Each scene has rich visual imagery and most include precise HD audio to perfect the experience.
• The user interface is direct and simple—yet powerful. Your smart lights come alive with a single click! Color flows. Strobe lights. Lightning. Fireworks. Candle light. Exciting holiday content. Relaxing nature scenes. And more!
• Sunrise and sunset alarm features—free!
• New albums and scenes added every month.

WHAT REVIEWERS ARE SAYING
5/5 "A 'must' if you have Philips Hue lights."
5/5 "This is the app you're looking for."
5/5 "If it wasn't for this app the Philips Hue wouldn't be worth having!"

HERO LIGHTING
Our light scenes have cinematic flair. Music sound tracks set the mood while our an animation engine delivers bursts of light and sound where anything can happen. Santa lands on your house! Zombies attack! You are in a spaceship battle!

Other light scenes transport you to a Lush Forest, Venice or even Deep Space to chill out in the Orion Nebula listening to superb ambient electronic music.

CREATIVE LIGHTING
OnSwitch gives you smarter, clearer ways to control your smart lights. Where Philips's Hue app gives you weird "Light Recipes" our Everyday Lighting album presents gorgeous photos of antique and halogen bulbs or a skylight make it clear what kind of light you are going to get. Our fluorescent tube even flickers on like the real thing.

Want Color? Other apps make you drag a pin around a color wheel. OnSwitch makes it easy with curated Pastels and Accent colors. Warm and Cool color flows. And "Color Splat!" our exclusive color discovery feature that's always fun and a surprise.

SUNRISE ALARM & SUNSET SLEEP TIMER
Wake up with a beautiful sunrise and your favorite music! Go to sleep with a sunset, optimized for better sleep.

LIGHT GROUPS
Easily create and manage groups of bulbs. Control each group independently. OnSwitch manages groups on your Philips Hue Bridge / LIFX bulbs, so it will play nicely with your other apps!

YOU DECIDE
Give us feedback from within the app and vote on which effects and features you'd like to see next!

IMPORTANT!
• You will need LIFX smart bulbs or a Philips Hue bridge and light bulbs to use this app.
• Note: LIFX bulb support requires on iOS 10 and a device newer than iPhone 5 and iPad Retina.

What's New

Version 2.0.3

• Animated (fun) feedback when you select an album or a scene.
• Performance improvements.
• Bug fixes.

Ratings and Reviews

4.6 out of 5

1.4K Ratings

1.4K Ratings

Great

Mark36

Updated review. I love this app. But I one-stared this app in an earlier review after almost a year, when the developer rolled out version 2 that crashed instantly on startup, with no clear solution, instantly transforming the app from great to utterly useless.

Developer fixed the problem and the app is back to its old greatness. I will be more reluctant to upgrade though; having been a software developer for a decade in a previous life, rolling out defective software like that was inexcusable; in my day someone would have been fired over a wide release so poorly executed. I hope these guys aren’t writing self-driving car software! Going forward, I’ll wait until a few days go by before upgrading this app; I won’t just auto upgrade it as I did in the past.

It gets five stars because it’s a great app. Just make sure any upgrade is stable before downloading; in my case OnSwitch had become my sole way to control nearly two dozen Hue and LIFX bulbs in my home, it’s that good. But when the app crashed, I lost the ability to control them (some don’t even have mechanical switches anymore) and was at the mercy of the developer to fix it. Not fun.

Developer Response

Hey Mark! Yep. Nasty crash. We have an update that fixes it.

Since you mentioned our testing and it's a fair point, a little more detail for you: The crash happens because a fraction of users have stored data that we weren't expecting and the app wasn't handling that properly. Since we didn't see that in our Alpha and Beta tests, we overlooked this terrible issue. A larger Beta group than we ran was required to hit that statistical occurrence. We're working on that for our next release.

As for right now, download 2.0.2, you should be up and running. Check our our new UI. If you feel the app is improved over last release, update your review to match what you think it deserves. Thank you for your patience with us. All the best!

Onswitch is great except…

Mcjake1971

First off, I love this app. I use it a lot to relax after a long day from work. I like using the skies lightning setting and sending the rumbling audio to my airplay enabled speaker in my room while I lay in my bed and rest for about 15 minutes. It’s so relaxing. However, I can’t seem to do that anymore. I no longer have the option to send the audio track from onswitch to an airplay enabled speaker. This is a major flaw with the app. I’m hoping I’m just using the app wrong otherwise not having the ability to send the app’s audio to an airplay speaker or Apple TV kinda makes any soundtrack from the app totally useless.
Otherwise, the ideas and execution of this app are great. It can be a tiny bit difficult to understand how to pick ur rooms and if you have purchased past settings it can be hard to find them, but they are still there.
Keep up the good work, but please fix the airplay feature.
iPhone 7 iOS 11.4

Great lights but unethical purchase model

Everry other name is taken!

Here’s the scoop: the scenes and/or albums for purchase are subject to be removed from the app in the name of the variety. Save for a recent disclaimer on the new holiday scenes, there is no transparency as to if/when this will happen to other purchases. Once the scene/album is removed, there goes your $.99-$3.99 purchase. This would be fine if there was full disclosure that your purchase is actually a rental, but again, there’s no transparency. You could purchase a scene and be none the wiser that it will be removed in a week. This was found out by users after their money was taken when previous albums were removed. I wish I had known this before I purchased scenes. I’m glad they made the disclaimer for the holiday scenes (probably because of users getting the word out in the forums), but I won’t make any additional purchases until the “keep your purchase” policy applies to all scenes. Or at least until it’s made clear which purchase is a rental. In sum, buyer beware.

Developer Response

Thank you for this feedback! OnSwitch never eliminates purchases but I think in one case, Halloween, we confused a lot of people. We, in fact, "upgraded" the old Halloween album to Halloween Pro. So the album image changed. And we "upgraded" 2 purchased effects to better effects (Haunted Mansion --> Haunted! & Throbbing Heart --> Running Scared!). The original effects were based on old tech where lights and sound didn't stay sync'd so they were not retained. So, even though your purchases are still there under new similar effects, from your view point, they disappeared. That's totally on us we weren't clear about the changes/upgrades. Contact us at support@getonswitch.com and we'll absolutely make it right for you. Thank you for being a great OnSwitch customer!

Information

Seller
Howard Cooperstein
Size
339.7 MB
Category
Entertainment
Compatibility
Requires iOS 8.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.
Languages
English, French, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese
Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright
© 2018 Buzzhaus, LLC (Howard Cooperstein)
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. Lightning $1.99
  2. Fireplace $1.99
  3. Aurora $1.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like