OnSwitch is the #1 most-downloaded third-party app for Hue and LIFX smart lighting systems.

• More than 30 "Albums" containing over 200 animated and static light scenes. Each scene has rich visual imagery and most include precise HD audio to perfect the experience.
• The user interface is direct and simple—yet powerful. Your smart lights come alive with a single click! Color flows. Strobe lights. Lightning. Fireworks. Candle light. Exciting holiday content. Relaxing nature scenes. And more!
• Sunrise and sunset alarm features—free!
• New albums and scenes added every month.

5/5 "A 'must' if you have Philips Hue lights."
5/5 "This is the app you're looking for."
5/5 "If it wasn't for this app the Philips Hue wouldn't be worth having!"

Our light scenes have cinematic flair. Music sound tracks set the mood while our an animation engine delivers bursts of light and sound where anything can happen. Santa lands on your house! Zombies attack! You are in a spaceship battle!

Other light scenes transport you to a Lush Forest, Venice or even Deep Space to chill out in the Orion Nebula listening to superb ambient electronic music.

OnSwitch gives you smarter, clearer ways to control your smart lights. Instead of guessing what Hue's "Light Recipes" mean, our Everyday Lighting album presents gorgeous photos of antique and halogen bulbs or a skylight so it's clear what kind of light you are going to get. Our fluorescent tube even flickers on like the real thing!

Want Color? Other apps make you drag a pin around a color wheel. OnSwitch makes it easy with curated Pastels and Accent colors. Warm and Cool color flows. And "Color Splat!" our exclusive color discovery feature that's always fun and a surprise.

Wake up with a beautiful sunrise and your favorite music! Go to sleep with a sunset, optimized for better sleep.

Easily create and manage groups of bulbs. Control each group independently. OnSwitch manages groups on your Philips Hue Bridge / LIFX bulbs, so it will play nicely with your other apps!

• You will need LIFX smart bulbs or a Philips Hue bridge and light bulbs to use this app.
• Note: LIFX bulb support requires on iOS 10 and a device newer than iPhone 5 and iPad Retina.

OnSwitch Premium subscription unlocks all of the app's lighting content. You can preview all of the content for 7 days FREE before your subscription starts.

If you choose to subscribe, you will be charged a per month subscription fee according to your country. The subscription fee will be shown in the app before you complete the payment. Your subscription will automatically renew at the end of each subscription term, unless auto-renewal is turned off at least 24 hours before the end of the term. Subscription renewals cost the same as the original subscription, and your credit card will be charged through your iTunes account at confirmation of purchase.

You may manage your subscription and turn off auto-renewal at any time after purchase by going to your iTunes Account Settings. Refunds will not be given for any unused portion of the term.

For additional information, please read our Terms of Service (https://www.getonswitch/terms) and Privacy Policy (

What’s New

Version 2.1.13

• We've radically upgraded our live game-sync experience. Get light-effects on every basket! OnSwitch even keeps score!
• Thank you for making our Final4 Game-Sync such a huge success! Based on your feedback we added longer delays and fixed a problem setting the broadcast delay on iPads

NOTE! iOS 10 or above is now required to run OnSwitch.

Ratings and Reviews

4.7 out of 5
4.6K Ratings
4.6K Ratings
Jean-Cordell ,

Great app. Two complaints.

My personal experience with this app has been wonderful, and I recommend it to anyone who owns hue lights. It really utilizes the full potential of the hue lights, and the different scenes are creative and very unique, unlike ones I’ve seen in the past. But there are two complaints I have. One, there is no mute button. Some times I just want to change the lighting of the different rooms in my house but also have a little peace and quiet. For example, I the kindle app, if I’m reading, the noise would continue to play as I’m reading. I know a simple solution would be to turn off the volume but that feels unnecessary to me when the only scene that I want sound for is the Fourth of July one. My second complaint is that you have to pay for many of the different scenes. I would be fine with paying a one time “premium” fee to get all of the scenes, to support the developers, but as a person on a low budget, having to pay for each scene individually is kind of annoying. I would understand having exclusive scenes for holidays and special events that you would pay for separately, but if I have to pay 40 dollars to get all of the scenes, you can see how I may be slightly irritated. (You should also be able to preview the scenes before you buy them) Overall, this is a great app and I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone who owns hue lights. Thanks- Jean-Cordell

Developer Response ,

Jean, thank you for this review. It gives others a perspective on the app and most importantly it gives us insight into how our product experience was for YOU. We will soon roll out a way to preview everything in the app for an extended period and—if you
choose—unlock all the content using a different pricing model. It may not be exactly what you’ve laid out above but we hope it’s super close! Cheers and thanks for using OnSwitch!

Mark36 ,


Updated review. I love this app. But I one-stared this app in an earlier review after almost a year, when the developer rolled out version 2 that crashed instantly on startup, with no clear solution, instantly transforming the app from great to utterly useless.

Developer fixed the problem and the app is back to its old greatness. I will be more reluctant to upgrade though; having been a software developer for a decade in a previous life, rolling out defective software like that was inexcusable; in my day someone would have been fired over a wide release so poorly executed. I hope these guys aren’t writing self-driving car software! Going forward, I’ll wait until a few days go by before upgrading this app; I won’t just auto upgrade it as I did in the past.

It gets five stars because it’s a great app. Just make sure any upgrade is stable before downloading; in my case OnSwitch had become my sole way to control nearly two dozen Hue and LIFX bulbs in my home, it’s that good. But when the app crashed, I lost the ability to control them (some don’t even have mechanical switches anymore) and was at the mercy of the developer to fix it. Not fun.

Developer Response ,

Hey Mark! Yep. Nasty crash. We have an update that fixes it.

Since you mentioned our testing and it's a fair point, a little more detail for you: The crash happens because a fraction of users have stored data that we weren't expecting and the app wasn't handling that properly. Since we didn't see that in our Alpha and Beta tests, we overlooked this terrible issue. A larger Beta group than we ran was required to hit that statistical occurrence. We're working on that for our next release.

As for right now, download 2.0.2, you should be up and running. Check our our new UI. If you feel the app is improved over last release, update your review to match what you think it deserves. Thank you for your patience with us. All the best!

OKCDogGuy ,

LIFX Bulbs ***STILL*** won’t SAVE!

UPDATE: I submitted my original review below on October 26, 2018. Today is February 3, 2019, and nothing has changed. That’s more than three months! I know the app works great with Philips lights, because I have a few. But the majority of my lights are LifX, and the problem remains. Again, if the developers choose to NOT fully support LIFX bulbs, that’s fine. But then stop marketing the app as “For LifX lights“! Downgraded to one star.

ORIGINAL REVIEW: I read about the OnSwitch app, I loved the concept, and I downloaded it. And then I discovered all the cool premium albums of effects, and I bought some of them - Romantic Getaways and Nature were two. I set up my light groups (rooms), and I started the show. Everything was great… UNTIL I shut the app down and came back later to show a friend. Every single one of my LifX bulbs had become unchecked in my light groups!!! Apparently it’s a known issue with NO TIMEFRAME for a fix? I understand stuff happens. What I don’t understand is why this app’s developer continues to market it as “For LIFX Lights“! Because until they STAY saved in groups, the app requires set up EVERY SINGLE TIME I open it, and it just isn’t worth the time and energy. I’d be happy with a fix date, but short of that, I’d like a refund for my purchases.

Developer Response ,

This review is correct. It has not been addressed promptly as implied below. We've earned 1-star here.

That said, quick background, we did dig into this in testing on our many LIFX devices of various generations. And the problem which we saw clearly in our testing before, had gone away. We assumed that LIFX had rolled a firmware fix. The support calls on the problem had dropped off at that time and we thought we were good to go. But several support emails came through again on it, so we had one user send us a screen video of the problem to confirm it was the same issue. We also verified their Phone model, firmware and OS versions to confirm they had the latest there...they did.

So we are back to working on a real fix. Can't provide an time estimate for the fix at this time.

Hi OKCDogGuy, thank you for this review. It’s happening for a bunch of our LIFX users and it’s a super frustrating problem.

You can get a refund from apple at

In any case we are aware of the issue and working on it. It’s mostly likely an Issue with LIFX software API we use. But we will try to work with LIFX on a solution or implement a newer version of the api which will take longer.

Thank you for being an OnSwitch customer and we look forward to getting you a fix for the LIFX issues ASAP.


Buzzhaus, LLC
250 MB

Requires iOS 10.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.


English, French, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese

Age Rating
Rated 4+
© 2018 Buzzhaus, LLC (Howard Cooperstein)
In-App Purchases
  1. Lightning $1.99
  2. Fireplace $1.99
  3. Aurora $1.99


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like