Open the Mac App Store to buy and download apps.
When you normally delete your files in Mac OS X, the operating system is only forgetting where those particular files are placed, while the data still physically remains on the drive. Beginning with Mac OS 10.3, Apple enhanced its security by introducing the Secure Empty Trash feature, which follows the U.S. DoD pattern of overwriting data seven times.
Permanent Eraser provides an even stronger level of security by implementing the Gutmann Method. This utility overwrites your data thirty-five times, scrambles the original file name, and truncates the file size to nothing before Permanent Eraser finally unlinks it from the system. Once your data has been erased, it can no longer be read through traditional means.
Work Great For Me
I have always wanted a strong and simple secure deletion program that completly deleted files well beyond the point of recovery. Permenant Eraser fits the bill. I rely on it much more than I rely on OS X’s Secure Empty Trash function when needing to delete sensitive data. It is simple, lightweight, and even has Automator actions to delete files straight from the Finder window. All in all, It is a great app for the secure deletion of sensitive information.
Note that Permenant Eraser cannot delete files that you don’t have write access to. Check your file’s permissions before giving up.
Works Better than Finder Empty Trash
Had been using "Secure Empty Trash" within finder for a long time now and found it to be slow and difficult to use. Permanent Eraser is faster, easier to use, and works great with an Automater iCal event to run it on a daily basis. Thanks for a great app and I would recommend this to anyone (and have).
Buggy, Doesn’t Erase Everything
App is always hanging or runs extremely slow, and upgrading to El Capitan did not do anything. It does not delete all file types (for example, certain xcode project files). Even worse, when it encounters such a file it simply stops running and displays a popup. Checking the “do not display again” box does nothing, as it continues to stop each time such a file is encountered in the current delete and future deletes.