Smart Watering Made Simple. Connect your Rain Bird controller to your mobile device to turn on sprinklers, set up customized watering schedules, and automate weather adjustments, saving you water and money.

Compatible with the following Rain Bird controller models:

For more information:

What's New

Version 2.2

* Introducing Amazon Alexa enabled voice commands for Rain Bird WiFi controllers.
* "Ask Rain Bird" via the Alexa voice assistant to run a program or water a zone using your own custom names, initiate a watering delay, report on irrigation time remaining, identify if a rain sensor has tripped, and much more.
* For more information visit

Ratings and Reviews

2.6 out of 5

44 Ratings

44 Ratings

Notifications corrected, needs a couple extra features


Most of the time notifications do not come through, even though I have every single option checked. Also, it would be nice to see a runtime log to verify which stations ran at which time, especially since the notifications do not come through most of the time. Would also love to see some sort of calculator interface to assist with setting up station runtime as well.

*edit* notifications appear to have been corrected with the latest update, thanks! Raised rating to 4 stars, couple of small added features would make it a solid 5.

*edit 2* dropping my rating back down, automatic seasonal adjust has not worked for weeks/months now, weather is nowhere close to accurate, connecting to the timer takes minutes most of the time from the app, notifications are extremely delayed most of the time, the app shows upcoming events that occurred many hours ago, and the clock doesn’t hold time well causing delays in scheduling. None of these should be an issue with an internet connected device, and do not appear to be an issue with cheaper internet connected irrigation controllers. Take my advice, do not waste your time with Rain Bird unless you want a 100% manual controller. Rachel and Orbit make much better devices at lower price points with better support.

Developer Response

Please contact to address the seasonal adjust, weather and notification issues. Work has been done to speed the synchronization process. It is required to synchronize because the settings on the front panel can be changed and the app needs to reflect changes there. We want to hear more about your comment that the controller does not hold time well. We don't know what that means specifically.

Good but Needs Improvement


Overall this app is worth downloading and using, although you'll find it a bit frustrating. Mainly due to poor coding. Here's the things that need improvement.

1. If you open a controller in the app and then back up to the home screen, you won't be able to get back into the controller until the communication session times out. This doesn't make sense. You should be able to get back to where you were and not start over.

2. Opening a controller session requires a download of the controller's programmed schedules each time. Even if you just exited a session. Depending on your connection speed, this can take a while. Instead, the app should retain a copy of the controller's schedules and only download any changes or exceptions. This can easily be done with a time stamp. Since most app users will be modifying schedules through the app, there will rarely be a change made at the controller that needs to be resolved with the app.

3. If the controller is running a program, it is not possible to make any schedule changes through the app until the current irrigation session is finished. Even if you are trying to modify the a schedule that is not running.

These are simple coding changes that RainBird should include in their next update.

ST8i-wifi changing password


Changing the controller's password is a complicated process on the RainBird ST8i irrigation controller. Password's requirements like length, letters, numbers, symbols aren't addressed in the manual or in FAQs. I had to call support to get answers. I was told to push the button on the wifi module, wait until the orange light comes on, and then change to password. However, that didn't work. I had to reset the wifi module, delete the existing controller in the app to be able to change the password. This process could have been simplified by adding a change password option in the app's settings. Password's requirements should also be spelled out. As of this date, it only accepts small case letters and numbers; no symbols or capital letters are allowed.

Developer Response

Thank you for the feedback. We will consider this in future updates.


20.9 MB
Requires iOS 8.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.
English, Bulgarian, Czech, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Turkish
Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright © 2016 Rain Bird Corporation


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like