Screenshots

Description

Place pins on a worldwide map for each location you want to visit, then see your route. Enter trip details for each location and create a complete trip itinerary. Multiple sample files are available, including an informative Route 66 sample file.
You can demo this app by downloading our free RTP Viewer app. RPT Viewer is virtually identical to this app except with RTP Viewer you can’t save your edits.

MAP PINS HOLD WHAT YOU NEED. Each pin shows:

- arrival date & time
- departure date & time
- travel time to this location
- time spent at this location
- name of pin (such as John’s house)
- address of pin
- notes and images
- custom pin color and icon
- URL for related information
- URL for related images
- weather reports
- transport type (driving or walking)
- Internet Search results
- list of activities (lodging, sights to see, etc.)
- choose between multiple routes (if available)
- view driving distance between pins, driving time, fuel cost, travel advisories, turn-by-turn driving directions
- Export pin data to your calendar.

EACH PIN CAN HAVE MANY ACTIVITIES. For each activity you can record:

- name of activity
- activity date, time and duration
- cost
- phone
- FAX
- address
- URL
- email address
- confirmation number
- notes
- picture

There are two types of pins. Route Pins are used to create the route. POI Pins mark points of interest on the map.

Choose between Apple Maps, OpenStreet Maps or various other maps. Cache non-Apple maps to disk for offline use. See the settings and Help for more info.

For air and rail routes a straight line can be displayed between pins.

Add, remove or rearrange the pins in any order you wish. Routes and pins can be sent to Apple Maps.

Import and export GPX data files.

Each trip can be saved as a separate document. Perfect for anyone who wants to maintain a record of past trips.

VIEW YOUR TRIP ON YOUR MAC with our Road Trip Planner app available from the Mac App Store.
Send location data to Road Trip Planner directly from any of our location-savvy apps.

THE ITINERARY HOLDS ALL OF THE DETAILS. Share it and take it with you.
- print the itinerary or share it easily
- includes a map image with pins and routes, activities for each Route Pin, costs for each activity, total fuel cost, total trip cost, information for Points of Interest Pins, and driving instructions.

USE THE TO-DO CHECKLIST. Make sure you don’t forget anything.

Development is very active and we have many more features planned. We respond quickly to suggestions and questions in our forum.
PLEASE CONTACT US IF YOU HAVE A QUESTION OR AN ISSUE. We promise we'll respond as quickly as we can.

For more info visit the Road Trip Planner web site at http://roadtripplanner.modesittsoftware.com

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY BEFORE PURCHASING:
The mapping and routing functionality Road Trip Planner uses is based upon Apple’s maps technology. If Apple Maps cannot find a route between map pins, then neither can Road Trip Planner. Please test the area you wish to travel using Apple’s Maps app to ensure that the area can be routed. If it cannot be routed, please submit the issue to Apple. If Apple Maps cannot perform routing in the area you wish to travel then neither can Road Trip Planner.

Developers, if you'd like to learn how to send location data from your app to this app, contact us.

What's New

Version 4.6.95

Fixed an issue when importing GPX files from iCloud.

Ratings and Reviews

4.1 out of 5

576 Ratings

576 Ratings

Good app, but has some very annoying flaws

Rootbeerdude526

Was originally going to give 4 stars because I only could think of 1 flaw. A decent amount of times the trip I was working on would just disappear. I’d be plotting points of where I’d be going on the map and then it’d just go blank. All I had to do was re load the trip, but it still is annoying.

What earned the app 1 star less was that you can’t edit the order of the plots easily.

Say you’re planning a road trip and want to make a slight adjustment in the middle. As far as I know you have to completely start over. There is no way to manually change the order of stops with out starting from scratch.

Also If you have at least 1 stop that requires a plane, it completely renders some features useless. I’d like the option to account for flights in the app.

With these complaints I feel like this is a decent app with some flaws that make it a pain to use sometimes. Take these flaws into your consideration and weigh them with your uses for the app before deciding to purchase.

Developer Response

I'm sorry to hear about the a trip disappearing, but unless you contact us we can't assist you.

You can easily change the order of the map pins by dragging them to a new position in the list after you tap the Edit button. This is common among iPhone apps, and at the app website there is a video showing how it's done.

Flights can easily be added to the trip via a straight line.

Please consider reading the online app user's manual for answers to your questions and a lot more useful information on how to use the app.

This app falls short compared to others

Rocking_Ran_

I know this app claims to help you plan a trip and it does do that. But for the price I found one that also navigates and alerts you of weather and traffic alerts ahead without changing your route until you decide to change the route. The app InRoute will only work on your iPhone not your Mac. I use it to plan my motorcycle rides. It is easy to use and very intuitive. Check out the app “ InRoute “ in the App Store.
Road Trip Planner is just that. It will not help you navigate your trip without a lot of help from another app!

Road closure

Game issues 1256784

I have been trying to plan my summer road trip with my kids. We bought the app and all gathered around to plan our huge Summer trip. After placing 6 pins of places we wanted to see we hit route. We got an error message saying one of the roads we are taking is closed do to weather. That’s great but I’m not going until August, we just want to see how many miles it is from each pin. I read the app instructions and they advise trying again in a few days. Well it’s been a week now and we are still unable to see our route. To say we are discounted is an understatement. Do not use this app it is useless if you are planing your trip during the winter

Developer Response

We understand your frustration, but the error message is coming directly from the Apple Map servers, something we cannot control. You will receive the same message if you try the same routes using the app Apple Maps. We suggest you contact Apple and ask them to allow planning for future trips when weather conditions are different. For more information on this please visit our web site and the Road Trip Planner forum where these issues have been discussed previously.

Information

Seller
William Modesitt
*WEA.AppPages.Size*
6.7 MB
Category
Travel
Compatibility
Requires iOS 9.3 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.
Languages
English
Age Rating
Rated 4+
Copyright
© 2018 Copyright Modesitt Software
Price
$5.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer

You May Also Like