Record. Edit. Share.

Telestream ScreenFlow® is award-winning screen recording and video editing software designed exclusively for macOS. With high-quality screen, video, audio, and iOS capture, exceptionally powerful editing features as well as a new Stock Media Library option*, ScreenFlow helps you create incredible looking videos, animated GIFs, and APNGs with unprecedented ease. You won’t find an easier to use or more intuitive interface for editing video.

ScreenFlow can record any part of your screen, or the entire monitor, while also capturing your camera, iPad or iPhone, microphone or multi-channel audio interface and your computer’s audio – all at the same time! ScreenFlow enables the best full-screen, high-resolution screen capture with brilliant detail, while keeping file sizes low. Then you can zoom in on key areas during your video to give even better detail for your audience.

ScreenFlow has won the prestigious Apple Design award for its easy-to-use editing interface, updated once again to offer even more ease of use. The editor instantly loads your recorded video and audio sources and lets you dive-in to quickly and creatively edit your video. Easily add additional images, recordings, clips, text, audio, other video files, and more to create awesome-looking videos.

Then polish it with professional-level animations. Add zoom and pan effects with video actions, highlight your mouse or anything on screen with callouts, draw on-screen with annotations or make your text pop with animated text effects. Also, nested clips, closed captioning, chroma key, and video motions such as spring, gravity, pulse, are just a few of the touches that make ScreenFlow editing easy and powerful.

New SF8… a Stock Media Library option*. Bring in motion backgrounds, lower thirds, titles, transitions, professional intros and outros, stock video content, royalty-free backing audio, and more. Unlike most stock media databases, you won’t pay per piece of media…just one incredibly low price for a year-long subscription!

When you are done, use the built-in sharing to publish your video directly to Vimeo, YouTube, Wistia, Facebook, Google Drive, Dropbox, Box, or Imgur. You can also export an animated GIF or APNG, ProRes file or MP4 directly to your desktop to be used anywhere.
ScreenFlow makes exporting easy with automatic export options. If you want to have more control, multiple export options can be customized to your exact specifications.

New in ScreenFlow 8:
Stock Media Library - In-App Purchase*
Track Thumbnails
Quick Narration & Voice-over additions
Detachable editing timeline
Additional Timeline Frame Rates
Export Animated PNG (APNG) Files
Freehand annotation
Instagram Project and Export Presets
Burn In Captions
And Much More! For a detailed list of changes and what's new, please visit:

ScreenFlow contains and in-app purchase*.
*Subscription length 1 year from date of purchase. Payment will be charged to your iTunes account at confirmation of purchase. Subscription automatically renews at the MAS equivalent price to $59.99 USD unless auto-renew is turned off at least 24 hours before the end of the current period. Subscriptions may be managed by the user and auto-renewal may be turned off by going to the user's Account Settings after purchase. Trial of the service is unavailable. The Stock Media Library may be browsed without a purchase but may not be used in a project.

What’s New

Version 8.2.2

8.2.2 Hot Fixes:
Fix for saving issue when pressing "Update" within the File>Document Settings window. Will allow for affected documents to be opened in the updated version.
In some scenarios, making edits/changes and undoing can show a SCUndoManager Runtime Error.
Added messaging for customers who are opening projects from Dropbox
Renamed Camera and Screen Recording Template Placeholder clips to “Camera and Microphone” and “Screen Recording and Computer Audio” respectively.
Stock Media Library – Added the ability to specify the format to download
JVC camera files unplayable in ScreenFlow 8
ScreenFlow crashes when applying Chroma Key to media files
Canvas does not appear in 10.14.1 (18B67a) for ScreenFlow projects
Reverse Clip no longer works correctly after update
Error locating file message shows after renaming a document then making a split
Removed Actions Templates from ScreenFlow UI
Show Keystrokes Accessibility message not localized
Unable to use shortcut keys to jump scrubber from beginning/end of media in Timeline while the Timeline is detached
Able to add multiple copies of 'recording' files to the Global Library
By default 'Stereo' is not selectable on the display thumbnails/waveforms menu
2160x3840 resolution files display incorrectly in ScreenFlow
848x360 resolution files display incorrectly in ScreenFlow
720x404 resolution files display incorrectly in ScreenFlow
New sections of publishing to YouTube not showing as being localized
Font Menu>Make Text Properties Default never becomes active
Audio/Video filter sliders/options show reverse order when comparing to older versions of ScreenFlow
Publish to YouTube second window not localized when system language is set to Spanish
Camera and Microphone access prompts are not localized
Creating a New Document activates the 'Undo' from the Edit menu.
German translation of 'light' motion blur is incorrect
Stock Media - Previews Do Not Play while Downloading to Timeline
Stereo waveforms do not show properly when track thumbnails is on
'Select parameters to store in styles' is cut off when ScreenFlow is in German

Ratings and Reviews

3.2 out of 5
11 Ratings
11 Ratings
mjl69 ,

The best screen recorder ever.

Wow, this program is great. I have just used it for a little bit tonight and I can already see the potential. I skipped over version 7 because 6 worked so well for me. In fact, version 5 worked great also. I have used those versions on all kinds of Macs and they always work fast for me. I have not had problems with crashing or out of sync tracks or any problems at all. I bought this one, version 8, on the App Store because I wanted to be able to use it on a few different computers without worrying about deactivating it on one before going to another one. About the $60/year media library, so far it is really good. I think it is worth it. There is a lot of good stuff in there. And, you can just drag video or audio into the time line. I played around with this for a while, making quick little commercials with stock video, music and text. The screen recording works well as usual. One feature that I wish they would add and I have already requested it is to put a meter for system audio on the monitor. For now, the monitor shows the camera and microphone levels. I use this program to record podcasts and I would like to see the levels for system audio as well as microphone. Also, it would be nice to have control over the volume of each. Screen recorders happen to work very well for recording podcasts. I would recommend this version if you are using a previous version. It’s good.

jpbreeze ,

Not even useable

There was a time when Screenflow, warts and all, seemed like it was someday going to be a professional solution to making screen-capture videos. But with this latest version, full of so many problems, it’s clear that this thing will always be amateur level software at best. While the video portion of the software is still useable, the audio implementation is absolutely a mess. From unusable latency to massive compatibility problems with AU plugins to just absurd implementation problems, this is a total waste of time and money. Go elsewhere for a professional-grade application for making video.

Memphis Entrepreneur ,


Okay i have a unexpected situation with screenflow8 for MacBook Pro Here’s the problem
in the screenflow preference in the shortcut option whenever you try to custumize the hotkey
with a button and exit out of the preference the hotkey does not work

I noticed that I’m having this unexpected situation only with the app store version of screenflow

I also noticed that when i downloaded the screenflow trial version from the telestream website
and downloaded the trial version of screenflow i was not having the problem the hotkeys worked
i was able to toggle the record and pause record hotkey

i believe that the app store version of screenflow8 for some reason is working accurately other than that
its a great software to use for screen recording

Developer Response ,

Hello Memphis Entrepreneur,

Thank you for reaching out. Unfortunately, we cannot assist you via the Mac App Store Ratings and Reviews system, as it is not designed to be a support tool.

To reach out support team, please send an email to Please include specifics as to which hotkey, and the exact steps you are taking so we can address the issue in a bug fix release. We do not currently have any reports of a similar issue.

Thank you for being a valued customer,

The ScreenFlow Team


Telestream LLC
61.5 MB

macOS 10.12.0 or later, 64-bit processor


English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish

Age Rating
Rated 4+
© Telestream, LLC


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

More By This Developer