iPhone Screenshots


No algorithms. No fake reviews. Just the absolute favorite spots of real locals in 71 cities. Each 100% offline city guide costs a few $/€/£, with free updates for life.

"Steers you toward hidden gems...” - NY Times

"Authentically local, on-the-ground advice...” - The Guardian

"Local tips rarely found in the guidebook." - The Times

• 100% offline - no internet needed
• Add your own spots (like your hotel)
• Show nearby spots and navigate offline
• Bookmark your favorites
• New tips added regularly (when online)

We believe intercultural misunderstanding to be the root of most conflicts in the world. We are sad about "Starbucksification" and overtourism. We hope to create a little change by encouraging travellers to experience cities from a local's perspective and learn about their culture.

Our Spotters live in the city they write about, speak the local language, write only about their favorite spots. Spotters love promoting quirky and locally owned spots and keep their tips up-to-date. Co-founders Sanne & Bart meet all Spotters in person.

Want to join our awesome community? Check our website!

We don't like apps with ads & publishers who sell or misuse your personal data. You are 100% anonymous to us. All our tips are available for free online. We charge a few $/€/£ (the App Store has different prices in each country) for a 100% offline experience and many extra features. You'll be helping us on our mission and to expand to more cities.

Thanks for your support over the last 10 years and please contact co-founder Bart at bart@spottedbylocals.com if you’re not happy!

Amsterdam, Antwerp, Athens, Barcelona, Belgrade, Berlin, Bratislava, Brussels, Bucharest, Budapest, Cologne, Copenhagen, Dublin, Edinburgh, Florence, Frankfurt, Geneva, Ghent, Glasgow, Hamburg, Helsinki, Istanbul, Kiev, Krakow, Lisbon, Ljubljana, London, Los Angeles, Madrid, Manchester, Milan, Moscow, Munich, Oslo, Paris, Podgorica, Prishtina, Porto, Prague, Riga, Rome, Rotterdam, Saint Petersburg, Sarajevo, Skopje, Sofia, Stockholm, Tallinn, Tbilisi, Tel Aviv, Thessaloniki, Tirana, Turin, Venice, Vienna, Vilnius, Warsaw, Yerevan, Zagreb & Zurich

Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, Mexico City, Montreal, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Seattle, Toronto, Vancouver, Washington DC

What's New

Version 6.4.3

In this version we just resolved a major bug (causing crashes - fortunately for very few users).

The previous update (6.4) was a big one though!
• Fully iPhone X proof (finally... we apologize for the delay dear iPhone X users)
• Previews for every spot in all 71 cities: check before you decide to buy!
• Speed improvements
Thanks for your continued support! If our locals helped you experience their city like a local, we'd love it if you can leave a review mentioning the city. We share all feedback with our locals - it will make them proud!

If you have any feedback, please reach out to co-founder Bart via bart@spottedbylocals.com

Ratings and Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68 Ratings
68 Ratings

Editors’ Notes

Find local favourite spots.

The handsome olive

Perfect way to explore a city

I first heard about SpottedbyLocals when I was studying abroad in Paris in 2009. I usually like to collect recommendations from friends before visiting a new city but in this day and age with social media, people end up seeing certain places on Instagram and Facebook and then just go where they see their friends go. This works sometimes but the problem is that you end up being directed to the same place that all the other people are going to which in effect ends up being touristy. If you’re like me and want to explore a city as someone who lives there would, then this is the app for you. The app itself is nothing special. Basic map with some highlighted spots but the content and curation is what is so key. We went to at least 10 of the recommended places in Mexico City and they were all spot on. You can’t get fair assessments of where to go on sites like Yelp and TripAdvisor anymore because their ranking systems have become biased towards the places that pay them. SpottedByLocals is a neutral assessment of amazing places in cities by the people who are proudest to live in them.


*UPDATED* annoyed

I wrote a review about a month ago about this app and how it didn’t work while I was on vacation. Their response team sent me back an email with a handful of excuses how it was my fault because I downloaded it wrong and asked if I would remove my review. I asked for a refund and he told me the only way I could get a refund was if I had PayPal. I received a total of SIX EMAILS from this guy asking me to remove my review. Not once did he take ownership for the app not working or gave me any other resolution other than to re-download it again (pay for it) and hope it works on my next vacation. He continually blamed me for downloading it incorrectly. By the last email this morning, it felt like harassment and I am so annoyed with this guy I could scream.

Don’t download this app unless you are fully confident in your skills to DOWNLOAD AN APP or have the extreme patience and extra time to deal write emails back and forth for over a month about a $4 product and a bad review.

Developer Response

We do not understand why this customer is so angry. It truly saddens us we have not been able to reach our goal to make an unhappy customer into a happy one! The customer asked for a refund and wrote they would "consider removing my review after I received a refund". We recommended trying re-installing the app - in 99.6% of the cases the issue such as described by our customer is a connection issue, resolved by a reinstallation. The App Store does not offer us (or any publisher) the option to refund directly, so we refunded via Paypal. We asked her to try our resolution (re-install) and offered free access to customer's next city trip, to which customer did not respond. We have still not heard if the resolution was successful - we think it would have been. We also asked them in a nice way if they would consider removing their review as mentioned in customer's email. Obviously, we triggered something that made our customer very angry, which we still don't understand. We are truly sorry about this - it's the last thing we wanted. What we realise in hindsight is that sending 3 emails after a customer has not replied is too much even though our only goal was to help and check if the issue was resolved and if our email has not ended up in a spam folder or so. We apologized a few times in our emails, before receiving this final angry review. We still hope our customer can forgive us for this, and we hope for a permanent peace agreement and all the very best in life for our customer! Bart van Poll - Co-founder Spotted by Locals

In-App Purchases

Madrid city guide by locals
City travel guide curated by Madrid locals
Antwerp city guide by locals
City guide curated by real Antwerp locals
Amsterdam city guide by locals
City travel guide curated by Amsterdam locals
Athens city guide by locals
City travel guide curated by Athens locals
Barcelona city guide by locals
City travel guide curated by Barcelona locals
Belgrade city guide by locals
City travel guide curated by Belgrade locals


Spotted by Locals
68.3 MB
Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.
Age Rating
Rated 12+ for the following:
Infrequent/Mild Alcohol, Tobacco, or Drug Use or References
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
© 2008-2018 Spotted by Locals
In-App Purchases
  1. Paris city guide by locals $3.99
  2. Barcelona city guide by locals $3.99
  3. New York city guide by locals $3.99


  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like