iPhone Screenshots

Description

Skip the tourist traps and experience 70+ cities like a local! A 100% offline city guide costs US$3.99 and includes new tips regularly "forever".

"Steer(s) you toward hidden gems...” - NY Times

"Authentically local, on-the-ground advice...” - The Guardian

"Local tips rarely found in the guidebook." - The Times

FEATURES:
• 100% offline - no internet needed
• Add your own spots (like your hotel)
• Save your favorites
• Show nearby spots and navigate offline
• New tips added regularly (when online)

WHAT DRIVES US SINCE 2008?
We believe intercultural misunderstanding to be the root of most conflicts in the world. We hope to create a little change by encouraging travellers to experience cities from a local's perspective and learn about its culture.

Our locals ("Spotters") live in the city they write about, speak the local language, write only about their favorite spots and keep their tips up-to-date. Spotters love promoting quirky and locally owned spots and do not accept money or favors in return for writing about a spot. Co-founders Sanne & Bart meet all Spotters in person.

Want to join our awesome community? Check our website!

EUROPE & MIDDLE EAST:
Amsterdam, Antwerp, Athens, Barcelona, Belgrade, Berlin, Bratislava, Brussels, Bucharest, Budapest, Cologne, Copenhagen, Dublin, Edinburgh, Florence, Frankfurt, Geneva, Ghent, Glasgow, Hamburg, Helsinki, Istanbul, Kiev, Krakow, Lisbon, Ljubljana, London, Los Angeles, Madrid, Manchester, Milan, Moscow, Munich, Oslo, Paris, Podgorica, Prishtina, Porto, Prague, Riga, Rome, Rotterdam, Saint Petersburg, Sarajevo, Skopje, Sofia, Stockholm, Tallinn, Tbilisi, Tel Aviv, Thessaloniki, Tirana, Turin, Venice, Vienna, Vilnius, Warsaw, Yerevan, Zagreb & Zurich

NORTH AMERICA:
Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, Mexico City, Montreal, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Seattle, Toronto, Vancouver, Washington DC

Not satisfied? Please email co-founder Bart at bart@spottedbylocals.com.

What's New

Version 6.3

We resolved an issue that led to "flickering" of icons on the map on some devices for some cities.

Ratings and Reviews

3.8 out of 5

63 Ratings
63 Ratings

Perfect way to explore a city

The handsome olive

I first heard about SpottedbyLocals when I was studying abroad in Paris in 2009. I usually like to collect recommendations from friends before visiting a new city but in this day and age with social media, people end up seeing certain places on Instagram and Facebook and then just go where they see their friends go. This works sometimes but the problem is that you end up being directed to the same place that all the other people are going to which in effect ends up being touristy. If you’re like me and want to explore a city as someone who lives there would, then this is the app for you. The app itself is nothing special. Basic map with some highlighted spots but the content and curation is what is so key. We went to at least 10 of the recommended places in Mexico City and they were all spot on. You can’t get fair assessments of where to go on sites like Yelp and TripAdvisor anymore because their ranking systems have become biased towards the places that pay them. SpottedByLocals is a neutral assessment of amazing places in cities by the people who are proudest to live in them.

*UPDATED* annoyed

Roroirene

I wrote a review about a month ago about this app and how it didn’t work while I was on vacation. Their response team sent me back an email with a handful of excuses how it was my fault because I downloaded it wrong and asked if I would remove my review. I asked for a refund and he told me the only way I could get a refund was if I had PayPal. I received a total of SIX EMAILS from this guy asking me to remove my review. Not once did he take ownership for the app not working or gave me any other resolution other than to re-download it again (pay for it) and hope it works on my next vacation. He continually blamed me for downloading it incorrectly. By the last email this morning, it felt like harassment and I am so annoyed with this guy I could scream.

Don’t download this app unless you are fully confident in your skills to DOWNLOAD AN APP or have the extreme patience and extra time to deal write emails back and forth for over a month about a $4 product and a bad review.

Developer Response

We do not understand why this customer is so angry. It truly saddens us we have not been able to reach our goal to make an unhappy customer into a happy one! The customer asked for a refund and wrote they would "consider removing my review after I received a refund". We recommended trying re-installing the app - in 99.6% of the cases the issue such as described by our customer is a connection issue, resolved by a reinstallation. The App Store does not offer us (or any publisher) the option to refund directly, so we refunded via Paypal. We asked her to try our resolution (re-install) and offered free access to customer's next city trip, to which customer did not respond. We have still not heard if the resolution was successful - we think it would have been. We also asked them in a nice way if they would consider removing their review as mentioned in customer's email. Obviously, we triggered something that made our customer very angry, which we still don't understand. We are truly sorry about this - it's the last thing we wanted. What we realise in hindsight is that sending 3 emails after a customer has not replied is too much even though our only goal was to help and check if the issue was resolved and if our email has not ended up in a spam folder or so. We apologized a few times in our emails, before receiving this final angry review. We still hope our customer can forgive us for this, and we hope for a permanent peace agreement and all the very best in life for our customer! Bart van Poll - Co-founder Spotted by Locals

South Seattle Doesn’t Exist

Call Me Ted

Imagine my disappointment, $3.99 for an App that reviews less than half of Seattle. If it’s South of I-90, there’s virtually no reviews. Undoubtedly the Northern half is the easy pickings for reviewers, but what about the rest of the city? There’s all sorts of great & quirky places around Seatac, Georgetown and Black Diamond, to name a few. Nearby small towns like Enumclaw-a mini Telluride- go completely ignored.
It’s lazy reporting, and it’s dishonest to charge for an App that is only focused on one small part of the city. There’s a lot more to Seattle than what’s in Spotted By.

Developer Response

Dear Ted, you're absolutely right and we're sorry about this. Our locals write about their favorite spots, and probably most of them are located in the North. 2 new Spotters in Seattle just started - we will make sure they will cover South Seattle too. Georgetown could use more tips for sure! Our Spotters only write about the *city of Seattle*, so Seatac, Black Diamond and the other towns and cities you mentioned that are not in Seattle will never be included.

Thanks for your comment. Bart - Co-founder Spottted by Locals

In-App Purchases

Madrid city guide by locals

City travel guide curated by Madrid locals

$3.99

Antwerp city guide by locals

City guide curated by real Antwerp locals

$3.99

Amsterdam city guide by locals

City travel guide curated by Amsterdam locals

$3.99

Athens city guide by locals

City travel guide curated by Athens locals

$3.99

Barcelona city guide by locals

City travel guide curated by Barcelona locals

$3.99

Belgrade city guide by locals

City travel guide curated by Belgrade locals

$3.99

Information

Seller
Spotted by Locals
Size
73.2 MB
Category
Travel
Compatibility
Requires iOS 11.0 or later. Compatible with iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch.
Languages
English
Age Rating
Rated 12+ for the following:
Infrequent/Mild Alcohol, Tobacco, or Drug Use or References
Location
This app may use your location even when it isn't open, which can decrease battery life.
Copyright
© 2008-2018 Spotted by Locals
Price
Free
In-App Purchases
  1. Paris city guide by locals $3.99
  2. Barcelona city guide by locals $3.99
  3. New York city guide by locals $3.99

Supports

  • Family Sharing

    With Family Sharing set up, up to six family members can use this app.

You May Also Like