Top Songs


Music Videos

Singles & EPs

Appears On

About Flatfoot 56

Formed in 2000 by siblings Tobin (vocals/guitar), Justin (drums), and Kyle Bawinkel (bass), Chicago-based Celtic punk outfit Flatfoot 56 grew from a straight-up punk trio into a hard-hitting, Flogging Molly/Dropkick Murphys-inspired Oi! rock outfit with the additions of Highland piper Eric McMahon and mandolin/guitar player Brandon Good. The band released its debut album, Rumble of 56, in 2002 with Waves of War arriving the following year. 2004s Knuckles Up became the groups biggest seller yet, while 2007s Jungle of the Midwest Sea and 2010s Black Thorn helped to further cement their reputation as one of the genres most spirited and electrifying champions. Flatfoot 56's exposure continued to grow when three of their songs were included on the popular FX series Sons of Anarchy. For their sixth album, 2012's Toil, they brought back producer Johnny Rioux, who had helmed their previous LP. Along with the band's motivational blue-collar anthems was a punk cover of the classic hymn "I'll Fly Away." Turning to their fan base for support, the group crowdfunded their next album, Odd Boat, which saw release in the summer of 2017. ~ James Christopher Monger

Chicago, IL