Top Songs

Essential Albums


Music Videos

Artist Playlists

Singles & EPs

Live Albums



About Girls' Generation

A nine-piece girl group from South Korea, Girls' Generation -- also known as SNSD or So Nyeo Shi Dae -- was an SM Entertainment creation, to go along with that company's other dance-pop group, the all-boy Super Junior. Members Hyoyeon, Jessica, Seohyun, Sooyoung, Sunny, Taeyeon, Tiffany, Yoona, and Yuri had -- for the most part -- been a part of Korean pop media, appearing in commercials and ads before winning places in Girls' Generation and making their debut as such in the summer of 2007.
Their first single, "Into the New World," was released in August of that year and was quickly followed with an album release, Girls' Generation, in November. The group finished out 2007 and saw in 2008 with a number of television appearances to promote the album and subsequent singles. With the release of the 2010 follow-up Oh!, Girls' Generation expanded their reach to Japan, and the group set its sights on the American market with 2011's The Boys. In 2012, Taeyeon, Tiffany, and Seohyun created the subunit Girls Generation TTS (aka TaeTiSeo), which released its debut single, "Twinkle," in April 2012.
In January 2013, Girls' Generation made their comeback with I Got a Boy, which sold over 265,000 copies that month alone and topped Billboard's World Albums Chart. Along with embarking on tours of Japan and Korea, that year the group also issued the 2011 Girls' Generation Tour live album and won the award for Best Music Video at the first-ever YouTube Music Awards. Another studio album, Love & Peace, appeared that December; it earned Girls' Generation the distinction of being the first Korean girl group to have two albums at number one on the weekly Oricon chart when it tied with their 2011 self-titled Japanese debut.
In February 2014, the group returned with the mini-album Mr. Mr., which featured production by Underdogs. That same year, Girls' Generation announced that Jessica had left the group due to scheduling conflicts and that they would continue on as an eight-member ensemble. In 2015, Girls' Generation released their fifth full-length album, Lion Heart, which included the singles "Party" and "You Think." After taking a break for much of 2016, they returned with album number six, Holiday Night. The LP topped the Billboard World Albums chart upon its release. ~ Chris True


Similar Artists