Top Songs


Singles & EPs

About Ne Obliviscaris

Ne Obliviscaris are an extreme progressive metal band from Melbourne, Australia. Conceived late in 2003 by violinist/clean vocalist Tim Charles and harsh vocalist Marc "Xenoyr" Campbell, the band included a female soprano vocalist, lead guitarist, bassist, and drummer. Former Gomorrah rhythm guitarist Matt Klavins signed on in early 2004, as did lead guitarist Corey King. The band's original rhythm section was replaced in 2005 by bassist Brendan "Cygnus" Brown (ex-Aphotic Dawn/Primordial Space) and drummer Daniel "Mortuary" Presland. For nearly two years this unit continued to rehearse and play regional shows.
In 2007 the collective released the three-track, 33-minute demo The Aurora Veil to thunderous underground acclaim due to its signature yet unpredictable meld of death and melodic metal, classical music, jazz, and avant-garde improvisation. King left shortly after the record's release and Ne Obliviscaris were forced to soldier on without a guitarist until they successfully auditioned French guitarist Benjamin Baret, who had played with Brown in Primordial Space in 2008. As Ne Obliviscaris began recording their full-length debut with this sextet in 2009, they held a concert called Festival de la Grenouille to raise funds for a Distinguished Talent Visa. It would allow Baret to relocate to Australia. After 14 months of waiting, and having a finished record about to be mixed, his application was denied.
Ne Obliviscaris appealed the decision by initiating a petition and letter-writing campaign that proved successful in 2011. The long-finished Portal of I was finally released in 2012. The evolution in sound and approach was greeted globally with critical and fan acclaim. In 2013 the band signed to Seasons of Mist and began recording a follow-up. After finishing the album, they began a crowdfunding campaign in June of 2014 to finance a world tour to support it upon release. They asked for $40,000 and received over twice that. Citadel was issued in November of 2014. The 2017 full-length Urn was heralded by the release of the singles "Urn (Part I) -- And Within the Void We Are Breathless" and "Urn (Part II) -- As Embers Dance in Our Eyes." ~ Thom Jurek

Melbourne, Australia

Similar Artists