Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To preview and buy music by [?], download iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

Spencer Dickinson

View In iTunes

To preview a song, mouse over the title and click Play. Open iTunes to buy and download music.


Spencer Dickinson was the name given to a one-off collaborative project fronted by three musicians with their own special take on the blues -- Jon Spencer of the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion and Boss Hogg, and siblings Luther Dickinson and Cody Dickinson, best known for their work with the North Mississippi Allstars. While Jon, Luther, and Cody have all worked with veteran masters of Southern blues (Jon recorded and toured with R.L. Burnside, while Luther and Cody have played on sessions and live dates with Burnside, Othar Turner, Junior Kimbrough, and T-Model Ford), they also share a background in punk rock and a fondness for making rough, urgent music that strips their tunes to the frame and lets the engines clatter as much as they please. These like-minded noise-makers crossed paths in 2001 when they met for a few recording sessions at Mississippi's Zebra Ranch, a studio owned by Jim Dickinson, the noted producer and studio musician who is also Luther and Cody's father. The sessions led to an album, simply titled Spencer Dickinson, which was released by the Japanese Toy's Factory label later that year. The album remained unreleased in the United States until 2006, when it was issued in an expanded edition by Yep Roc as The Man Who Lives for Love. ~ Mark Deming

Years Active: