Top Songs



SQÜRL is the new name for film director/guitarist Jim Jarmusch's trio Bad Rabbit, who released the Limits of Control EP soundtrack for his film of the same name. Bad Rabbit was formed in 2009 when Jarmusch and Carter Logan recruited session musician and engineer Shane Stoneback. Their sound is percussion-heavy, with detuned and droning guitars, loops, and cassette recorders drenched in feedback. The music melds everything from chopped & screwed hip-hop to country to stoner metal and soundtrack-like atmospheres. The group's debut, EP 1, was released in a limited edition in the late spring of 2013. EP 2, which featured a remix by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Nick Zinner, arrived in November of that year. Following 2014's EP 3, SQÜRL collaborated with Dutch lute player Jozef van Wissem on the score for the film Only Lovers Left Alive, earning a Cannes Soundtrack Award. As a live act, the band has performed at international festivals like All Tomorrow's Parties in Iceland and the Big Ears Festival, and recorded a live album at Jack White's Third Man Records. Jarmusch and Logan also spent some time scoring several silent films by surrealist Man Ray. SQÜRL's fourth EP, 2017's EP #260, was followed by their original score for the film Paterson. In 2019, they supplied the score for Jarmusch's zombie comedy film The Dead Don't Die. ~ Thom Jurek

Hollywood, CA

Similar Artists