Top Songs


Music Videos

Artist Playlists

Singles & EPs

Live Albums



About The Wombats

British indie rock trio the Wombats make driving guitar post-punk and electronic-influenced pop. Formed in Liverpool in 2003 while the members were all attending the Liverpool Institute of Performing Arts, the Wombats feature vocalist/guitarist Matthew Murphy, drummer Dan Haggis, and Norwegian-born bassist Tord Øverland-Knudsen. In 2006, the Wombats released their debut single, the Japan-only "Girls, Boys and Marsupials." Several singles followed before the release of the band's 2007 debut album, A Guide to Love, Loss & Desperation. A year later, they released the Wombats EP on Bright Antenna.
The band's sophomore album, This Modern Glitch, appeared in 2011 and featured production from such modern rock stalwarts as Eric Valentine, Butch Walker, and Jacknife Lee. Included on the album was the Top 40 single "Tokyo (Vampires & Wolves)." In 2015, they returned with their third full-length album, the synth-heavy Glitterbug, which featured production from Mark Crew and included the singles "Greek Tragedy" and "Give Me a Try." Somewhat of a breakout, the album was a commercial success in the U.K. and Australia, and also marked the band's first chart entry in the U.S.
In December 2017 the Wombats released "Turn," the first single from their fourth LP, 2018's Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life. Produced by Mark Crew (Bastille, Rationale) and Catherine Marks (the Killers, Wolf Alice), the album also included the singles "Lemon to a Knife Fight" and "Cheetah Tongue." The album peaked at number three in the U.K., and hit the Billboard 200. In August 2018, the Wombats issued an extended version of Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life, which added the single "Bee-Sting" as well as the album track "Oceans" and an acoustic version of "Lethal Combination." ~ Matt Collar

Liverpool, England

Similar Artists