Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Be Careful What You Wish For

Book 4, The Clifton Chronicles

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


Bestselling author Jeffrey Archer's Be Careful What You Wish For opens with Harry Clifton and his wife Emma rushing to hospital to learn the fate of their son Sebastian, who has been involved in a fatal car accident. But who died, Sebastian or his best friend Bruno?

When Ross Buchanan is forced to resign as chairman of the Barrington Shipping Company, Emma Clifton wants to replace him. But Don Pedro Martinez intends to install his puppet, the egregious Major Alex Fisher, in order to destroy the Barrington family firm just as the company plans to build its new luxury liner, the MV Buckingham.

Back in London, Harry and Emma’s adopted daughter wins a scholarship to the Slade Academy of Art where she falls in love with a fellow student, Clive Bingham, who asks her to marry him. Both families are delighted until Priscilla Bingham, Jessica’s future mother-in-law, has a visit from an old friend, Lady Virginia Fenwick, who drops her particular brand of poison into the wedding chalice.

Then, without warning, Cedric Hardcastle, a bluff Yorkshireman who no one has come across before, takes his place on the board of Barringtons. This causes an upheaval that none of them could have anticipated, and will change the lives of every member of the Clifton and Barrington families. Hardcastle’s first decision is who to support to become the next chairman of the board: Emma Clifton or Major Alex Fisher? And with that decision, the story takes yet another twist that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

Be Careful What You Wish For showcases the master storyteller’s talent as never before – when the Clifton and Barrington families march forward into the sixties, in this epic tale of love, revenge, ambition and betrayal.

Customer Reviews

Archer at his best!

I didn't think book 4 of the Clifton chronicles could live up to the suspense, intelligence, and wit of the previous books. So glad I was wrong! This was an unbelievable read in that I could NOT put it down, finding moments where I gasped, cried, laughed and felt so completely engrossed I would be up past midnight not able to fall asleep. And the ending! Can't wait for book 5. I still think about the characters weeks after I finished reading. More please!!

Classic Archer

Could not put the book down. You really had to have read the previous books in the series to get the most out of the story, and there were maybe a couple of "stretches" in the story line, but overall very, very good.
If you are a "boomer" and remember the 50's and early 60's, the book will be especially interesting, and bring back memories of the characters, and both good and bad times we experienced in the 1955 - 1965 decade.

Be Careful What You Wish For

Jeffrey Archer writes a suspenseful novel filled with the usual and unusual twists. Suffice to say if you are a Jeffrey Archer fan then you will like this page turner. You can imagine my surprise as I turned the final pages trying to figure out how the book could possibly end-- after all there were only two pages left and many loose ends waiting to be neatly tied into little bows. Alas, the book didn't end -- instead we are informed that it will"be continued" in the next installment. One gets to buy another book to get the answers to all the unanswered questions. Since I wasn't informed in advance of the serial nature of the book nor after reading the Sample, I bought the book expecting a "book" compleat in every way. Not so it appears thus the 3 rating. Buy forewarned.

Be Careful What You Wish For
View in iTunes
  • $9.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Mysteries & Thrillers
  • Published: Mar 11, 2014
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Seller: Macmillan / Holtzbrinck Publishers, LLC
  • Print Length: 400 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 4, The Clifton Chronicles
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings