Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Beyond the Night

Book 1, The Envy Chronicles - The Heroes of New Vegas

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


First in the acclaimed, award-winning Heroes of New Vegas series.
From New York Times bestselling author Colleen Gleason (previously writing as Joss Ware) comes a unique paranormal romance series set in a devastated world. 
“Colleen Gleason's vision of the future is dark, complex, and sharply original. I can’t wait for the next book!" -- Nalini Singh 
"Atmospheric and dark, filled with high-stakes action, sizzling romance, and set against a shadowy, post-apocalyptic world that's as fascinating as the varied cast of characters who inhabit it." -- Lara Adrian 
"Dark, sexy, and captivating." --Jeaniene Frost 
"An edgy, sexy, page-turning series. Brilliantly conceived and executed." --Library Journal 
“Colleen Gleason makes even the end of the world sexy!" -- Kathryn Smith, USA Today bestselling author 
Like a sexy Walking Dead!” —Mara Jacobs, New York Times bestselling author
Everything they knew is gone...
Five men emerge from the remnants of destruction with extraordinary new powers. 

They are humankind's last hope, but they cannot survive this devastated world alone.
When Dr. Elliott Drake emerges from a cave after traveling fifty years through time, the world as he knew it in 2010 is gone. Cities are overgrown jungles, and what's left of civilization has been repressed by crystal-wearing immortal beings. But even more unsettling: Elliott has acquired an extraordinary ability--the power to heal. 
But even that gift, in a world that lacks the technology and infrastructure of his past, is a two-edged sword for Elliott. 
Jade Kapiza, who was once imprisoned by the immortal beings, has been in hiding for years. But now she's determined to help the human race fight back against the control of her captors. She can trust no one...but when Elliott comes into her life, he pushes at her defenses and begins to tear down the walls she's built so carefully. 
Yet the mysterious doctor seems to have secrets of his own. Can Jade trust Elliott with her heart, even as they risk their lives to save a band of innocents? 
And can Elliott find a new place for himself--a home--in this new, ravaged world?

The Heroes of New Vegas series: 
Beyond the Night  Embrace the Night (December 2016) Abandon the Night (December 2016) Night Beckons (February 2017) Night Forbidden (March 2017) Night Resurrected (April 2017)

From Publishers Weekly

Nov 02, 2009 – In Ware's profanity-saturated debut, Dr. Elliott Drake and his friends Quent and Wyatt are trapped underground and knocked unconscious when the immortal Strangers arrive to destroy human civilization. The trio awaken after 50 years, unaged, and escape the cave to find that two of them now have odd powers and everything familiar has vanished. After six months of wandering amid desolation, they rescue some teens from an attack of quasi-humans with the help of Jade, a mysterious woman on horseback. The teens lead the men to their city of Envy (pop. 2,000), formerly Las Vegas, where Jade draws Elliott into romance as well as efforts to understand and dispel the Strangers' powers. Ware creates a convincing and chaotic world, complete with ocean, elephants and tigers on the Nevada terrain, but the story seems too sparse to fill the planned three books.

What's New in Version 1.2

Link to next book in series.

Other Books in This Series

Beyond the Night
View in iTunes
  • $3.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Paranormal
  • Published: Nov 22, 2016
  • Publisher: Avid Press
  • Seller: Avid Press
  • Print Length: 350 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 1, The Envy Chronicles
  • Version: 1.2
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings