Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Broken Things

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


With all the intensity and whiplash turns of Sharp Objects and One of Us Is Lying, this engrossing psychological thriller by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver is an unforgettable, mesmerizing tale of exquisite obsession, spoiled innocence, and impossible friendships.

It’s been five years since Summer Marks was brutally murdered in the woods.

Everyone thinks Mia and Brynn killed their best friend. That driven by their obsession with a novel called The Way into Lovelorn the three girls had imagined themselves into the magical world where their fantasies became twisted, even deadly.

The only thing is: they didn’t do it.

On the anniversary of Summer’s death, a seemingly insignificant discovery resurrects the mystery and pulls Mia and Brynn back together once again. But as the lines begin to blur between past and present and fiction and reality, the girls must confront what really happened in the woods all those years ago—no matter how monstrous.

From Publishers Weekly

Aug 20, 2018 – When Vermont best friends Brynn, Mia, and Summer were 13, Summer was murdered under strange circumstances linked to the girls' obsession with an old fantasy novel, The Way into Lovelorn. Five years after being publicly accused of, but never charged with, Summer's murder, Brynn and Mia, still known as the Monsters of Brickhouse Lane, are determined to find out what really happened. Oliver (the Delirium Trilogy) tells her story in first-person chapters that alternate between Brynn, in rehab, and Mia, who is trying to dig herself out of her mother's hoarded piles. In chapter interstitials, Oliver weaves excerpts from The Way into Lovelorn as well as the fanfiction the three girls wrote when they were young, designed to offer an additional layer to the mystery. This novel has all the elements of a thriller an unsolved murder, long-held secrets and lies, grieving best friends yet it lacks necessary tension, and Brynn and Mia's voices read as overly similar. The novel falls short of producing an urgent story with clearly distinct characters, but it succeeds in creating an eerie setting and atmosphere. Ages 14 up.

Customer Reviews


Lauren Oliver has done it again. Her writing drags you into the world of Brynn and Mia and you go through every heart breaking discovery as if you were there. Absolutely heart wrenching, pulse raising, and incredible read.


This book was amazing. I loved every second of it. The ending was surprising in a very good way, and how Oliver ended it gave me chills. 10/10 would recommend to any mystery lovers.

Pretty good

This book was really good. I liked it, although it was creepy and slightly disturbing, it was interesting and really pulled me in. It does have pedophilia and animal violence, but it doesn’t promote them. It has a very complex storyline and I would recommend it to people who like One of Us is Lying, All of This is True, and other teen psychological thrillers. There’s also a slight element of Narnia, Bridge to Terabithia, and Lord of the Rings.

Broken Things
View in iTunes
  • $7.99
  • Level: Ninth Grade
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Crime & Mystery
  • Published: Oct 02, 2018
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Print Length: 416 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings