Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Crystal Mask

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.



The Echorium’s enemies have been quiet for a generation, licking their wounds after the events of Song Quest. But now a new threat is emerging deep within the Mountains of Midnight. Once again, the Singers must use their Songs of Power to restore harmony to their world. 

As one of the few novices who can hear half creatures, Renn reluctantly teams up with the wild girl Shaiala who can kick like a centaur. Forced to leave the safety of the Isle of Echoes on a dangerous mission to find the missing centaur foals, they must learn to work together against their common enemy. For in a land where the slightest whisper can bring down an avalanche, the Echorium’s Songs alone will not be enough to defeat an evil that makes children and half creatures into slaves. 

Crystal Mask is the second adventure in the Echorium Sequence and continues the epic saga that began with the author’s Branford Boase award winning novel Song Quest. 

“A novel marked by rapidly paced adventure, fierce and costly fights, startling revelations and cataclysmic set pieces.” Times Educational Supplement. 

“The kind of book where the more you read, the more you feel involved.” Financial Times. 

"Reminiscent of Tamora Pierce's Immortals... this book should appeal to the same audience." Voice of Youth Advocates. 

There are currently three titles in the Echorium Sequence: SONG QUEST, CRYSTAL MASK and DARK QUETZAL. First published by Chicken House in the UK and Scholastic in the US, these full-length fantasy novels can be enjoyed by teens and adult genre fans.

From Publishers Weekly

Apr 01, 2003 – The Echorium Sequence by Katherine Roberts, begun with Song Quest, adds Dark Quetzal. The peace-keeping Singers on the Isle of Echoes must contend once more with the evil sorcerer Frazhin, and the young Kyarra plays the pivotal role in the battle. The previous installment, Crystal Mask, is being simultaneously released in a paperback reprint.
Crystal Mask
View in iTunes
  • $3.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Epic
  • Published: Mar 08, 2016
  • Publisher: Katherine Roberts
  • Seller: Draft2Digital, LLC
  • Print Length: 326 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this book.