Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

A Dance of Dragons: Series Starter Bundle

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


An ancient evil awakens.
Three unlikely heroes rise.
An age of myth is reborn.

Try the A DANCE OF DRAGONS series today, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kristin Cashore, and Tamora Pierce! This bundle includes the prequel novella, The Golden Cage, as well as the first full-length novel, The Shadow Soul.


THE GOLDEN CAGE (A Dance of Dragons #0.5)

In the land of Ourthuro, cruelty is a way of life. The king rules with an iron fist and no one dare defy him--no one except his daughter. Princess Leena is keeping a dangerous secret, she has fallen in love with a soldier and it would mean both of their lives if her father ever discovered their affair.

But Leena will risk it all to be with the man she loves--her heart, her life, her freedom. And when her brother's birthday celebration takes a dangerous turn, Leena is forced to make a decision that will change the fate of her nation and eventually the world.

THE SHADOW SOUL (A Dance of Dragons #1)

When Jinji's home is destroyed, she is left with nowhere to run and no one to run to--until she meets Rhen, a prince chasing rumors that foreign enemies have landed on his shores. Masquerading as a boy, Jinji joins Rhen with vengeance in her heart. But traveling together doesn't mean trusting one another, and both are keeping a deep secret--magic. Jinji can weave the elements to create master illusions and Rhen can pull burning flames into his flesh.

But while they struggle to hide the truth, a shadow lurks in the night. An ancient evil has reawakened, and unbeknownst to them, these two unlikely companions hold the key to its defeat. Because their meeting was not coincidence--it was fate. And their story has played out before, in a long forgotten time, an age of myth that is about to be reborn...


"Gorgeous writing (spellbinding is a word that fits well here), creative and unique world and characters that steal your heart away, this is an unbelievably fantastic beginning to what is sure to be a new favorite series. I'm so eager for more!" -- Candace's Book Blog

"The writing is flawless. The story and plot line, and plot twists, had me captivated and enamored for the first words. I couldn't put this book down for anything, and I absolutely cannot wait for book two...It's an amazing start to a new series that is going to have people of all ages wanting so much more." - Happy Tails and Tales

"One word to describe this book: intense! Everything from the battles, to the secrets, to the descriptions of the characters and scenery, are all incredibly intense. This book had me biting my nails, stomach tided in knots, and completely entranced til the last word." - Desert Rose Reviews

Customer Reviews

Can't put the book down.

I couldn't put the book down. One of my Favorite books on my phone. 😜

Frustrating Book

Starts out with a good story in the first chapter. Then apparently she couldn't keep the story going. Second chapter starts a whole new story, new characters everything. It goes on like this for the whole book. I will never read another from this author. She is awful....

Unexpectedly Amazing

I was very confused at first. After finishing the first "chapter," (The Golden Cage) which is actually a story within itself with some background information on some characters, I was confused as to why it suddenly jumped to new characters and new settings (The Shadow Soul).

So, let's clear up the air for anyone confused. The first "chapter" (The Golden Cage) you will read is about Princess Leenaka and her secret love affair with a guard. Events happen and her lover is sent away. He then will reappear meeting Rhen and Jinji/Jin in The Shadow Soul (Princess Leena will also reappear again). This first story is kind of your preview, a teaser. If you look closely, The Golden Cage is numbered book number 0.5, meaning it's not yet the actual thing, but it is a part of the whole thing and plays a pretty important role to the series.

Suddenly, after telling us the story about Leena, Kaitlyn Davis jumps to tell us the story about new characters, Prince Rehn and Jinji/Jin. This story is The Shadow Soul, which is numbered book number 1. This starts the actual series of her books about Jinji and Rehn and Leena. Whereas The Golden Cage was written in only Leena's POV, The Shadow Soul is written in both Jinji and Rehn's point of view, so don't get confused on that.

The Golden Cage could be looked at as a beginning of one series, while The Shadow Soul could be seen as the beginning of another series, HOWEVER, all the books in both series need to be intertwined to complete the actual picture because Leena, Rehn and Jinji together are major and the main characters. Although it could be a little frustrating and confusing, just keep reading!!!

All In all, I was not expecting to like this book as much as I did. I could not put it down. I wasn't sure whether to rate it four stars or five stars because I do think that there were boring parts and the supernatural elements of the characters are a little weak, but I do hope and anticipate that there will be more drastic development in the characters and their powers. So, I decided to rate it 5 stars because I was pleasantly surprised and have high expectations for the next books. I have not encountered a worthy supernatural type book for awhile, so this book has really gotten me up and reading again!

I am in no way or shape a professional critic or reviewer, because as you can tell, I am literally all over the place, lol. I just wanted to kind of clear things up because I was confused for awhile, lol. And if you got even more confused, I apologize, lol. Just go read the book!

A Dance of Dragons: Series Starter Bundle
View in iTunes
  • Free
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Epic
  • Published: Dec 08, 2014
  • Publisher: Kaitlyn Davis
  • Seller: Smashwords, Inc.
  • Print Length: 388 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings