Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Four Nights with the Duke

Book 8, Desperate Duchesses

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


Eloisa James returns with another fabulous romance in her New York Times bestselling Desperate Duchesses series!

As a young girl, Emilia Gwendolyn Carrington told the annoying future Duke of Pindar that she would marry any man in the world before him—so years later she is horrified to realize that she has nowhere else to turn.

Evander Septimus Brody has his own reasons for agreeing to Mia's audacious proposal, but there's one thing he won't give his inconvenient wife: himself.

Instead, he offers Mia a devil's bargain . . . he will spend four nights a year with her. Four nights, and nothing more. And those only when she begs for them.

Which Mia will never do.

Now Vander faces the most crucial challenge of his life: he must seduce his own wife in order to win her heart—and no matter what it takes, this is the one battle he can't afford to lose.

Customer Reviews

Stayed up all night... Worth it!

This is one of those books that you just don't want to put down. I love everything about it, especially the horse :)

it’s hard to pick favorites, but like all of James’ novels, I was drawn in and unable to put it down

It’s hard not to like this series or this author, her writing style is polished and detailed, with plenty of information and imagery to fuel the reader’s visualization of the setting and characters. And, you can pick up this series with any of the titles to start: each story is complete in and of itself, although you may meet earlier characters, Eloisa James does give them enough background to understand their connections.

In this story, Mia and Vander have long known one another, as her father and his mother were involved in a rather scandalous affair for years. After a devastating embarrassment some 13 years earlier, Mia suddenly reappears in Vander’s life with an outrageous proposition. Their parents died together in a fire in a small country inn: while Vander cut off his mother from his life and his father died in an asylum years ago, he’s never bothered to enter into society, instead concentrating on his stables and horses. With Mia’s return, all of the anger he held for Mia’s father and his mother have returned to focus on her.

So a not-quite friends to lovers story with plenty of twists turns and oh so many moments that bring the action to life.

Vander is the least ‘societally acceptable’ Duke he can be. His best friend Thom is a bastard and proud of the fact. Vander eschews society in favor of his horses and racing, and has built quite a nice stable. The only benefit he finds in the title is the ability to do what he wants. Rough around the edges, Vander is plain spoken and utterly unused to anyone telling him no.

Mia has several secrets: she is a popular romance novelist, with her heroines always being the ‘ideal’ – tall, willowy, blonde and with scads of admirers who go to great lengths to woo them. She is intelligent, headstrong and utterly romantic, despite believing that her diminutive size, curves and green eyes make her utterly unattractive, and she dresses the part with over-large flounces and ruffles to offset the curves she feel make her fat. Underneath all of the insecurities is a woman that is loyal and thoughtful, her determination to protect Charlie from all of life’s unpleasant moments is easy to understand and relate to, if not always the best direction.

Together, Vander is busily showing his frustration with Mia, while he wants her body, and expects that their marriage is forever, his ‘but I tell you I care’ moments are poorly phrased and ill-timed, and leaves Mia believing that he doesn’t like or respect her. What’s funniest is these two are relating to one another much like they should have at 15, not as grown people of nearly 30. Their near constant bickering and fighting is partly due to hurt feelings now, and old issues unsettled. They are often funny, as Vander is the one usually putting his foot in his mouth, and is unable to understand his own mistakes.

There are many twists and turns, with cameo appearances from Thom and his bride India, but it is the insets from Chuffy, Charlie and the newly arrived Jafeer that add depth to the budding relationship. Chuffy, Vander’s Uncle is a combination of a jolly elf and the feel of Puck from Midsummer Night’s Dream: moments of utter hilarity are mixed with his true ‘fangirl’ moments when he discovers that Mia is the author of his very favorite novels, and he is always quoting from Shakespeare. I loved his fierce protectiveness of those he loved, hidden under the occasional façade of drunkenness and oblivion. Chuffy doesn’t miss much, and every quote and revelation from him is spot on. Charlie is a wonderful little boy: a bit timid at first, but Vander’s ‘real world’ approach to showing him what he can do and new ways to do more rather than what he can’t, with no outward adjustments for his difficulties was wonderful, if a 180 degree difference from Mia’s coddling. In fact, it is Charlie and Mia’s determination to protect and raise him that shows Vander just what a gem she is.

So much happens in this story, it’s hard to pick favorites, but like all of James’ novels, I was drawn in and unable to put it down until the final page.

I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

Okay book

This book was just okay, the love scenes were virtually non-existent.

Four Nights with the Duke
View in iTunes
  • $5.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Historical
  • Published: Mar 31, 2015
  • Publisher: Avon
  • Seller: HarperCollins
  • Print Length: 384 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 8, Desperate Duchesses
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.5 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings