Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Happy Never After

Book 4, Callahan Garrity - A Callahan Garrity Mystery

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


Since retiring from the Atlanta Police Department, Callahan Garrity is really cleaning up with her House Mouse housecleaning company -- especially since she added"crime investigation" to the list of services offered.

Callahan agrees to locate the missing member of the popular '60s girl group, the VelvetTeens, and she doesn't have to search long. Deloras Carter, the a.w.o.l. singer, is found passed out drunk by a swimming pool near the dead body of the trio's former producer. The smoking gun in Deloras's hand suggests that the VelvetTeens won't be reuniting for a comeback tour anytime in the near future ... unless Callahan and her "Mice" can spotlight -- and survive -- a different killer act.

From Publishers Weekly

May 01, 1995 – Callahan Garrity, who runs a cleaning service in Atlanta and performs an occasional investigation, gets an intriguing glimpse of music-industry exploitation and corruption when she's hired to find a member of her favorite singing group of the '60s, the VelvetTeens. Hoping to make a comeback, Vonette Hunsecker and her cousin Rita Fontaine want Callahan to find Rita's sister, Delores, who left the group in 1967. The case gets more complicated when Rita, who has scrapped in public with Stuart Hightower, the still-flourishing manager and producer who used up the VelvetTeens and tossed them aside, is found snoozing by his pool, reeking of scotch and holding the gun that has killed him. Callahan's investigations reveal a host of folks nursing grudges against Hightower, among them his ex-wife, who once tried to burn down his house. Callahan is good company, even when her ongoing relationship with Mac McAuliffe hits the skids and takes her self-esteem with it. But the real lure, compensating for the too many moments of strained humor, is the look at the people who are the cannon fodder for the hit parade. Earlier titles include Every Crooked Nanny and Homemade Sin.

Other Books in This Series

Happy Never After
View in iTunes
  • $6.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Women Sleuths
  • Published: Oct 13, 2009
  • Publisher: HarperCollins e-books
  • Print Length: 320 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 4, Callahan Garrity
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings