Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening Apple Books.If Apple Books doesn't open, click the Books app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Made in Acapulco

#0, Detective Emilia Cruz

This book can be downloaded and read in Apple Books on your Mac or iOS device.


Imagine if you were the first and only female police detective in Acapulco. Mexican drug cartels battle for control. Politicians are bought with blood money. 

You fought your way up the police ladder to the detectives squadroom.
But you're still fighting. Because they're still trying to break you. 

MADE IN ACAPULCO is a collection of short stories featuring Emilia Cruz, the first and only female detective on the Acapulco police force. Taking place before the full-length Detective Emilia Cruz novels, the stories form a prequel to the series: 

The Beast captures Emilia's struggle to become the first female police detective in Acapulco. It previously appeared in The Huffington Post's Huff/Post 50 Featured Fiction showcase. 

The Disappeared sees Emilia search for a friend who goes missing. Those who have gone missing amid Mexico's drug war violence is a continuing theme throughout the mystery series. 

The Artist was inspired by Mexican poet Javier Sicilia's efforts to bring awareness to the plight of families impacted by the drug war violence and references photos of some of the rallies held in Mexico in recent years. 

The Date explores the downside of a job that pits Emilia against Mexico's enduring culture of machismo, while also drawing on real events that occurred in a nightclub in Mexico in 2006. 

The Cliff is the original Emilia Cruz story. Written for a literary critique group, the story was initially entitled So Far From God and introduces hotel manager Kurt Rucker. The story became the basis for CLIFF DIVER, the first Emilia Cruz novel. 

With hot nights on the beach and suspense straight out of the news, the series goes inside Mexico's drug war with a fearless style and a woman who will be hard to forget. 


Cliff Diver 
"Consistently exciting." ― Kirkus Reviews 

Hat Dance 
"Emilia . . . is a force to be reckoned with." ― 

Diablo Nights 
"Amato's unique setting, realistic characters, and intriguing plot set her apart." ― 

King Peso 
"Danger and betrayal never more than a few pages away." ― Kirkus Reviews 

Get all the DETECTIVE EMILIA CRUZ books: 

Cliff Diver 
Hat Dance 
Diablo Nights 
King Peso 
Pacific Reaper 
43 Missing 
Made in Acapulco 

Other Books in This Series

Made in Acapulco
View in iTunes
  • Free
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Short Stories
  • Published: Mar 24, 2018
  • Publisher: Laurel & Croton
  • Seller: Draft2Digital, LLC
  • Print Length: 93 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: #0, Detective Emilia Cruz
  • Requirements: This book can only be viewed on an iOS device with Apple Books on iOS 12 or later, iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this book.