Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

The Bitter Kingdom

3, Girl of Fire and Thorns

This book is available for download with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device, and with iTunes on your computer. Books can be read with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


The New York Times‒best-selling series!

"Carson joins the ranks of writers like Kristin Cashore, Megan Whalen Turner, and Tamora Pierce as one of YA's best writers of high fantasy."—Locus

In the deeply satisfying conclusion to the bestselling Girl of Fire and Thorns trilogy, seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen Elisa travels into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny.

Elisa is a fugitive in her own country. Her enemies have stolen the man she loves in order to lure her to the gate of darkness. As she and her daring companions take one last quest into unknown enemy territory to save Hector, Elisa will face hardships she's never imagined. And she will discover secrets about herself and her world that could change the course of history. She must rise up as champion—a champion to those who have hated her most. Riveting, surprising, and achingly romantic, Rae Carson has spun a bold and powerful conclusion to her extraordinary trilogy.

From Publishers Weekly

Jul 01, 2013 – The action-packed conclusion to Carson’s excellent trilogy opens hard on the heels of 2012’s The Crown of Embers: young Queen Elisa and her companions trek into enemy territory to rescue the man she loves, while a traitor back home attempts to overthrow her. Elisa’s journeys take her to the wintry lands of Invierne, where she hopes to destroy the source of the Inviernos’ magic and bargain for peace; to the Basajuan desert, where only her most audacious plans have any chance to stop the war; and home to try to regain her throne through wits and political skill. The plot takes time to gather momentum, but Carson moves the story along with terrific world-building and character development. She also tackles classic fantasy tropes, springing off into unusual and refreshing directions that reinforce her story. Elisa learns to wield the full power of the Godstone, but it’s her brains, courage, and ability to inspire people that continue to bring her success. Carson brings her series to an end with a thrilling climax, but readers will hope more adventures lie ahead. Ages 13–up.

Customer Reviews


A satisfying end to a brilliant trilogy. Highly recommend.

Trilogy is Magnificent

Wonderful series - get lost in it and enjoy

Best book I have ever read!

I love the series to pieces, and the ending is outstanding. I enjoyed the descriptiveness to it and the overall plot! Fell in love with the characters throughout the trilogy as well. Definitely a series I would recommend!!!

Other Books in This Series

The Bitter Kingdom
View in iTunes
  • $6.99
  • Level: Grades 8 and Above
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Fiction
  • Published: Aug 27, 2013
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Seller: HarperCollins
  • Print Length: 448 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: 3, Girl of Fire and Thorns
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings