Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Just Over the Horizon

Book 1, The Complete Short Fiction of Greg Bear

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


The New York Times Book Review hails this collection of thirteen dazzling stories and a rare screenplay by Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author Greg Bear as a “solid introduction to the oeuvre of a classic writer.”
Greg Bear—author of Queen of Angels, Eon, and Hull Zero Three, among many other hugely popular novels—has an ability to transform challenging scientific concepts into gripping fiction that has won him numerous awards and an avid following. He has written novels about interstellar war, human evolution, intelligent bacteria, international terrorism, and the exploration of deep space—but he doesn’t stop there. This brilliant collection of Bear’s stories, each newly revised by the author, proves he is a master of the short form as well. Just Over the Horizon offers thirteen mind-bending explorations of the near future . . . or just beyond the border of conventional reality. The volume includes:
·      “Blood Music,” a Hugo and Nebula award–winning classic and the basis for the novel of the same name—and the first science-fictional exploration of nanotechnology;
·      “Sisters,” in which high school students find maturity and family by confronting a tragic genetic destiny;
·      “Tangents,” winner of the Hugo and Nebula Awards, about a persecuted scientist who seeks refuge in a better world;
·      “Dead Run,” a tale of union truck drivers ferrying souls through Death Valley into Hell, adapted for an episode of the television series The Twilight Zone;
·      “Sleepside Story,” which Bear calls one of his favorite pieces, an urban fantasy tale that takes a music student by Night Metro to the Sleepside mansion of a magical woman of the night, inverting “Beauty and the Beast” in a very modern mirror;
·      “Genius,” the screenplay written for the television series Outer Limits, but never produced.
Just Over the Horizon combines Bear’s intense concern with the human condition with a deep understanding of science, resulting in a collection long to be remembered.

From Publishers Weekly

Dec 14, 2015 – This delightfully diverse collection of early works from longtime author Bear contains a clear message: parents, don't let your babies grow up to be true believers (of any variety). The 14 stories and one television script (which never made it to the screen) span fantasy, horror, and SF, as well as occasionally mingling them; all have been recently revised and include notes from the author. Fans of Bear's gritty fantasy novels (Songs of Earth and Power) will appreciate the decent young protagonist unraveling a magic curse in "Sleepside Story." Fans of his horror work (Psychlone) will enjoy an early glimpse at his meditations on the deceptive appearance of innocence in "Richie by the Sea." Most, though, will look to the SF, which includes his breakout nanotech tale, "Blood Music" (later turned into a novel), and his renowned alt-history "Tangents," dedicated to persecuted genius Alan Turing. Lesser-known stories, such as a sensitive look at genetic engineering set amid the insensitivities of high school life, and his script for Outer Limits, "Genius," which wraps four-dimensional tentacles around three emotionally struggling individuals, also highlight Bear's talent for combining human reality with speculative possibility.

Other Books in This Series

Just Over the Horizon
View in iTunes
  • $8.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Short Stories
  • Published: Apr 26, 2016
  • Publisher: Open Road Media
  • Seller: OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
  • Print Length: 372 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 1, The Complete Short Fiction of Greg Bear
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

We have not received enough ratings to display an average for this book.