Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download

Kill Without Mercy

Book 1, Ares Security

This book can be downloaded and read in iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


From the hellhole of a Taliban prison to sweet freedom, five brave military heroes have made it home—and they’re ready to take on the civilian missions no one else can. Individually they’re intimidating. Together they’re invincible. They’re the men of ARES Security.
Rafe Vargas is only in Newton, Iowa, to clear out his late grandfather’s small house. As the covert ops specialist for ARES Security, he's eager to get back to his new life in Texas. But when he crosses paths with Annie White, a haunted beauty with skeletons in her closet, he can't just walk away—not when she’s clearly in danger…
There’s a mysterious serial killer on the loose with a link to Annie’s dark past. And the closer he gets, the deeper Rafe’s instinct to protect kicks in. But even with his considerable skill, Annie’s courage, and his ARES buddies behind him, the slaying won’t stop. Now it’s only a matter of time before Annie’s next—unless they can unravel a history of deadly lies that won’t be buried.

From Publishers Weekly

Nov 02, 2015 – Prolific Ivy (Burned by Darkness) introduces an intimidatingly hot set of protagonists for her new contemporary romantic thriller series. The five men of Houston's Ares Security are as much a brotherhood as a tightly functioning team, after their shared experiences in a Taliban prison. The opener throws Ares covert ops specialist Rafe Vargas, visiting Iowa to deal with his late grandfather's house, into the arms of terrified accountant Annie White, the daughter of the serial killer known as the Newtown Slayer. It's been 15 years since the murders, and Annie's father is long dead, but the nightmarish visions she had as a child have returned, and she fears they may be linked to another killer. Ivy manages to make Rafe's fierce protectiveness appealing without undermining Annie's competence. The sex scenes feel a little mundane, but their pacing works to blend the erotic zing back into Annie and Rafe's high-energy pursuit of the new serial killer. The Ares team's dynamic includes support and accountability among the members, allowing the reader to indulge in the men's aggressive sexuality without feeling like they might put women at risk.

Customer Reviews


I'm a fan of Alexandra's, in fact she's on my auto buy list, but I was disappointed in this book. The plot and future series intended with these friends was interesting but there was no chemistry between the lead characters. I had difficulties staying engaged in the story. There was a lot of holes in their relationship and it just wasn't "believable". Ordinarily, Alexandra makes you feel the charisma of characters and it was just plain missing in this book. I think a lot of effort went into the plot and keeping the reader guessing about who done it....but she or her editor omitted the importance of building out the lead characters, and making their romance believable. Disappointed overall.

Other Books in This Series

Kill Without Mercy
View in iTunes
  • $5.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Suspense
  • Published: Dec 29, 2015
  • Publisher: Kensington
  • Seller: Penguin Random House LLC
  • Print Length: 368 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Series: Book 1, Ares Security
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings

More by Alexandra Ivy