• $4.99

Publisher Description

The hilarious Karin Gillespie returns with her “flair for timing and a cheeky Southern turn of phrase.” (Booklist)


“Witty and smart, entertaining and lyrical, in Love Literary Style author Karin Gillespie explores all facets of love and language through her evocative characters and charmingly delicious plot. Aaron and Laurie’s story is the intellectual’s romantic comedy, an uproariously winning tale that is sure to delight a wide range of readers, but particularly those who desire a book with heart.” —Laura Spinella, bestselling author of Ghost Gifts 


“Love Literary Style is an intelligently written novel packed with Southern wit.  This is a story book clubs will devour. It’s warmly humorous, thought-provoking and shines with emotional depth.” –Amy Avanzino, author of Wake-Up Call and From the Sideline


“Cheeky and charming, Gillespie’s sweet, outlandish fable is as much a sendup of books, authors, and the publishing industry as it is a love letter to it all. Like the Pink Lady cocktails stodgy Aaron can’t help but adore, Love Literary Style is a frothy and irresistible concoction–that packs a surprising punch.” –Phoebe Fox, author of The Breakup Doctor series


“Funny, empathetic, and wise. Gillespie shines a light into dark corners we need to examine, but somehow manages to entertain us at the same time. A fantastic read.” – Susan M. Boyer, USA Today Bestselling Author of Lowcountry Book Club (on Girl Meets Class)


They say opposites attract, and what could be more opposite than a stuffy literary writer falling for a self-published romance writer?


Novelist Aaron Mite meets Laurie Lee at a writers’ colony and mistakenly believes her to be a renowned writer of important fiction. When he discovers she’s a self-published romance author, he’s already fallen in love with her.


Aaron thinks genre fiction is an affront to the fiction-writing craft. He often quotes the essayist, Arthur Krystal who says literary fiction “melts the frozen sea inside of us.” Ironically Aaron doesn’t seem to realize that he’s emotionally frozen. The vivacious Laurie, lover of flamingo-patterned attire and all things hot pink, is the one person who might be capable of melting him.   


In the tradition of The Rosie Project, Love Literary Style is a sparkling romantic comedy which pokes fun at the divide between low and high brow fiction. 

  


Books by Karin Gillespie:



• GIRL MEETS CLASS, A Novel
LOVE LITERARY STYLE, A Novel 



The Bottom Dollar Girls Series:

• BET YOUR BOTTOM DOLLAR (#1)
• A DOLLAR SHORT (#2) 
• DOLLAR DAZE (#3) 



Part of the Henery Press Chick Lit Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all...



Author Bio:  


Karin Gillespie is national bestselling author of five novels and a humor columnist for Augusta Magazine. Her nonfiction writing has been in the New York Times, The Writer Magazine and Romantic Times. She maintains a website and blog at Karingillespie.net. Sign up for her newsletter on her website, follow her on Twitter or connect with her on Facebook.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
November 8
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
280
Pages
PUBLISHER
Henery Press
SELLER
Henery Press LLC
SIZE
901.4
KB

Customer Reviews

glhince ,

A wonderful read, perfect for those who truly enjoy reading and want something that is just a smidge

What happens when a self-published author and a professor of Literary Criticism who is penning the ‘next great novel’ meet in a retreat? Gillespie gives us a bit of a look into that clash with this story: Aaron the repressed, approval seeking introvert determined to pen the next great novel and Laurie Lee, a self-published romance writer.

This is a clash of titans – populist fiction (romance, cozies, thrillers) versus the Award Winning titles that garner internationally acclaimed prizes for their depth, statements on the human condition and precisely turned phrases.

From Aaron’s often dismissive and wholly snobbish approach to the ‘talents’ of writers, like Laurie Lee, who choose to write genre fiction. (Believe me, you can almost hear the disdain in his use of the phrase “genre fiction” as if a genre is something to be ashamed of, unworthy of even a mention.) The humor, subtle and not, that poke at his seemingly ingrained two by four up his backside lead to many laugh out loud moments. Not to say that Laurie Lee is immune to the jabs – her beta reader prefers paranormals to her more contemporary style and from the pieces shared, one can only say that she is determined to make an HEA from every story, no matter how convenient or forced the circumstances are to get her there.

There is great growth in both characters as we see their insecurities regarding their talent, the words they write, the acceptance of that writing and of course the underlying issues surrounding sales, fame and recognition. There is a strong and very distinct divide early in this book that attempts to think, much as Aaron does, that there is somehow a superiority inherent in the more highbrow fiction, and that all genre or popular fiction is necessarily less important, less valuable and requires less skill to write or brains to enjoy.

Fortunately, what emerges from that rather divisive attitude (held by many in the ‘industry’) is an understanding. Writing a book, no matter the genre or purpose, requires skills – the same skills with language use, phrasing, story and world building, character definition and plotting. To add to this – there’s a lovely little romance building between them, as the world of publishing, literary critique and the writing process all come into play.

A wonderful read, perfect for those who truly enjoy reading and want something that is just a smidge different from your normal fare.

I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

More Books by Karin Gillespie