Opening the iTunes Store.If iTunes doesn't open, click the iTunes application icon in your Dock or on your Windows desktop.Progress Indicator
Opening the iBooks Store.If iBooks doesn't open, click the iBooks app in your Dock.Progress Indicator

iTunes is the world's easiest way to organize and add to your digital media collection.

We are unable to find iTunes on your computer. To download from the iTunes Store, get iTunes now.

Already have iTunes? Click I Have iTunes to open it now.

I Have iTunes Free Download
iTunes for Mac + PC

On Broken Wings

Realm of Essences, no. 2

This book is available for download with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device, and with iTunes on your computer. Books can be read with iBooks on your Mac or iOS device.


From potter's clay to potter...

"Justice in this world is a human artifact," says Louis Redmond. "Either it's made by individuals, or it doesn't exist. I have made my share of it, and I don't regret it in the slightest." The unassuming young man, a high genius and an adept of the arts of war, means every word. Yet fate has shown him little justice: at age thirty-six, he's dying of spinal cancer.

Louis has picked up an unusual stray: a young woman named Christine who's committed a murder to escape from sexual slavery to the Butchers, a vicious motorcycle gang. Christine has no resources, and the abuse she's endured has apparently robbed her of her memory; she doesn't even know her last name. The Butchers are certain to be looking for her. Despite all, Louis takes her into his central New York home and commits what's left of his life to preparing her for independence.

Having no choices, and ignorant of Louis's impending doom, Christine embraces the rigors of his physical and intellectual training program with passion. The speed of her advance astounds them both. It's just as well, for the Butchers are still out there, and their leader Tiny is obsessed with her. Louis repels their first attempt to retake her, but he knows that, some day, she'll have to do it herself.

In the shadows behind the dying champion waits another man: Louis's mentor Malcolm Loughlin, immortal wanderer and grand master of all things martial. Malcolm has trained the great warriors of the world for two millennia. He will take over Christine's education when Louis's life is spent, for a price.

Louis learns that even the end of life can be sweet, if there is love. Malcolm learns to accept instruction from his students. Christine learns many things: the heights of love, the depths of grief, the importance of a moral anchor, and the necessity always to be ready to make justice for oneself.

On Broken Wings depicts the coming of age of an extraordinary young woman without a past, under the tutelage of two extraordinary men: one who cannot live, and one who cannot die.

On Broken Wings is Book Two of the Realm of Essences series, a combination supernatural fantasy and contemporary tale of intrigue among the vicious and powerful. Book One, Chosen One, is also available. The conclusion, Shadow Of A Sword, will be published in late 2011.

Customer Reviews


This book was the most amazing book I've ever read! I recommend it to any sci-fi fanatic.

On Broken Wings

Great characters, long book but I couldn't put it down!

"On Broken Wings" Review

It's a great book yet sad too not because of bad writing though but by by great writing. It's changed the way I think and it's to be the best book I've read. Be patient about it's plot and just keep on reading it because it will probably change your life too.

On Broken Wings
View in iTunes
  • $2.99
  • Available on iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, and Mac.
  • Category: Contemporary
  • Published: Feb 15, 2010
  • Publisher: Francis W. Porretto
  • Seller: Smashwords
  • Print Length: 536 Pages
  • Language: English
  • Requirements: To view this book, you must have an iOS device with iBooks 1.3.1 or later and iOS 4.3.3 or later, or a Mac with iBooks 1.0 or later and OS X 10.9 or later.

Customer Ratings